Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias provide definitions and overviews of concepts and theories.
Relevant Article Databases
Our databases provide access to a range of high quality scholarly resources, such as journal articles and books chapters. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-resources page.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Search across a range of ProQuest’s specialist index and full-text social sciences databases. Subject Area(s): Criminal Justice, Education, Library and Information Science, Linguistics, Politics, Social Science, and Sociology. Coverage: 1914 - Present.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Resources on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development, social work practice, violence, abuse, and neglect.
Social Work Online This link opens in a new window
This resource pairs recently published social work textbooks with compelling documentaries, clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate complex and challenging realities faced as practitioners.
SocINDEX with Fulltext
A substantial international collection of resources in sociology and sub-disciplines such as social work and community.
Social Work Toolkit This link opens in a new window
This website includes content around four themes: Communication Skills; Developing your Practice; Ethics, Values and Diversity; and Assessment and Intervention. Each theme contains different resources, which will help you to explore some key issues and aspects of social work practice.
Families and Society Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers resources relating to family, community, social services, public welfare, family law, and culture and institutions: non-traditional families, parenting, marriage, divorce, division of labour, working mothers, birth rates, and ageing.
Taylor and Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
A significant range of social sciences resources and is international in focus.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Encompasses resources relating to psychology, as well as related issues such as social work and community.
How does Hot Articles work?
Hot Articles is a mini window that goes on a web page and shows popular articles in broad subject areas (as defined by ExLibris). In each subject area, bX Hot Articles displays a list of up to ten articles and is based on selections made by millions of researchers from thousands of academic institutions around the world. Note: This list is updated once a month.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)