Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias provide definitions and overviews of concepts and theories.
Relevant Article Databases
Our databases provide access to a range of high quality scholarly resources, such as journal articles and books chapters. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Sociology research database includes journals dating back to 1908, and full-text e-books and conference papers. Coverage: 1895 - Present.
Social Science Premium Collection
Search across a range of ProQuest’s specialist index and full-text social sciences databases. Subject Area(s): Criminal Justice, Education, Library and Information Science, Linguistics, Politics, Social Science, and Sociology. Coverage: 1914 - Present.
Social Science Database
An international collection of resources in the social sciences.
Taylor and Francis Journals
A significant range of social sciences resources and is international in focus.
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection
Encompasses a range of resources from the arts and social sciences. It is Australasian is focus.
Families and Society Collection
Resources relating to families and society and topics arising from the associated linkages of families and society.
A collection of resources in sociology and sub-disciplines.
An extensive range of resources relating to sociological thought, encompassing influential writings and key trends. It is international in scope.
Multidisciplinary range of resources, including sociology based.
How does Hot Articles work?
Hot Articles is a mini window that goes on a web page and shows popular articles in broad subject areas (as defined by ExLibris). In each subject area, bX Hot Articles displays a list of up to ten articles and is based on selections made by millions of researchers from thousands of academic institutions around the world. Note: This list is updated once a month.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)