Skip to Main Content

Research Metrics Toolkit

Web of Science ResearcherID

What

Web of Science ResearcherID is a system where you can claim publications, track your citations and metrics, and manage your Web of Science record. Partnerships with journals are in place to verify your peer-review and journal editing history in your profile

Applications

  • Manage your publications in the Web of Science database
  • Get publication metrics for your work indexed in Web of Science, such as h-index and citation counts
  • Get a Web of Science ResearcherID identifier to use in the research analytics product, InCites
  • To demonstrate your peer-review and journal editing history
  • Link your ORCID ID to your Web of Science Researcher Profile

Considerations

  • Web of Science algorithmically generates author records
  • You need to claim and verify your profile for yourself by logging in with your Web of Science account
  • Free limited view of the ResearcherID is available without product subscription
  • You can add your publications to your Web of Science ResearcherID, but metrics will only be provided for publications indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection database.
  • Web of Science Researcher IDs replaced Publons. All Publons profiles have now moved into Web of Science.

Get basic research metrics for Web of Science publications

From either your Publons ID or Web of Science record, you can now view basic metrics for your Web of Science publications:

  • Total publications
  • Sum of times cited
  • Citing articles
  • h-Index.
How to: Create and manage your Web of Science ResearcherID

Create your Web of Science ResearcherID

  • Go to Web of Science > Researcher search
  • Sign In or Register to use Web of Science. If you have a login for EndNote you can use the same one, as the products are all owned by Clarivate
  • Type your last name into the search box, and select the matching option. Do the same for your first name or initial. Include alternative names if appropriate, and click Search
  • Click on your name in the results list. Alternatively, if there are multiple profiles containing your publications, tick the ones you want to include and click View Combined Record
  • Click Claim My Record on the author record page
  • Follow the steps to verify your publications and then click Submit
  • Verified researcher profiles show a green checkmark next to the researcher's name
  • Once the publications are linked to your profile you can make edits to update your profile

  • More information is on the Clarivate Knowledgebase page.

Populate your Web of Science ResearcherID with your publications

  1. You will be assigned a Web of Science ResearcherID by claiming your publications in Web of Science.
  2. This means when someone searches for you on Web of Science, the profile they see there is linked to your ResearcherID, which you can manage.
  3. This makes it a lot easier for people to find a full list of your publications in Web of Science, and you can use your ResearcherID to see your profile in the analytics product InCites.

ORCID and Web of Science ResearcherID

To link your ORCID profile to your Web of Science ResearcherID:

  1. Log in to your Web of Science account
  2. Click on the Researcher ID icon on the left-hand side of the page
  3. Click on Edit next to your name
  4. In the profile setting page, click on the ORCID Syncing tab
  5. Make edits, then click Save changes

Add or remove publications from your Web of Science ResearcherID

  • Log in to your Web of Science account
  • Click on the ResearcherID icon on the left-hand side of the page
  • Click on the Manage button at the top of your publications list
  • You can add or delete publications on your publications record page
  • You can choose to import from Web of Science, sync with ORCID, or import via identifier or file upload

Manage reviews in your Web of Science ResearcherID

To find information and instructions for adding and managing reviews you performed for journals, visit the Manage Reviews support page. The page includes the following topics:

  • Review Types on Web of Science ResearcherID
  • Review Eligibility
  • How to add my Publisher-invited reviews?
  • How to add my Community reviews?
  • How to add my Grant reviews?
  • My review receipt for an integrated journal was rejected
  • How to edit or delete a review record?
  • Review Privacy on Web of Science researcher profile
  • How can I request feedback from editors for my reviews?
  • How can I invite my review collaborators?

View publications not indexed in Web of Science Core Collection

  • Publications not indexed in Web of Science can be added to Web of Science ResearcherID. But metrics will only be provided for publications indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection database.
  • To view these publications in any Researcher profile, click on the box next to "Include publications not indexed in Core Collection" at the top of the publications list.

Create a citation report

  • From your Web of Science record, choose to view your publications as a set of results to export, analyse, and view the full text
  • Click Create Citation Report in the top right-hand corner of the results screen
  • Within the citation report, you can view year-on-year information, average citations, and other citation totals, both with and without self-citations, and export the data to an Excel file.

Use Analyse Results to learn more

Clicking Analyse Results on any set of search results (including your own publications viewed as a set of results) splices the data by many different metadata fields and provides simple visualisations, for example, to view your publications by:

  • Web of Science categories
  • Publication years
  • Document types
  • Funding agencies
  • Source (journal) titles
  • and more.

Help resources for Web of Science ResearcherID

© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)