Anatomy.tvThis link opens in a new window* PLEASE IGNORE THE BANNER MESSAGE ABOUT FLASH ON THE ANATOMY.TV HOMEPAGE *
Derived from real human data, this software provides 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, and animations. Includes access to 3D Atlas, 3D Real-time, Functional Anatomy and Therapy, Anatomy & Physiology, Quizzing, Imaging [Ultrasound for Lower Limb], and Legacy products [Acupuncture, Hand Therapy, Sports Injuries of the Shoulder, Sports Injuries of the Knee, and Sports Injuries of the Foot]. The high resolution 3D models allow you to rotate, add or remove anatomy and identify and learn more about any visible structure. In addition to 3D anatomy, this resource also contains 3D cross sections with MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imagery) correlations and detailed text linked to dissection slides, video clips and animations.
Visible BodyThis link opens in a new window* Recommended for use on Firefox, Chrome, and Safari. IE is not supported. Apps require iOS 11.3 or later installed on Apple devices. See minimum system requirements to access the Augmented Reality feature *
Visible Body is an interactive 3D human anatomy visualization and learning tool with highly detailed, anatomically accurate, 3D models of all human body systems including anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system. It allows users to view in real time any combination of anatomical structures from any angle by zooming in, rotating, and making structures transparent or visible. It has dynamic search capability and includes easy-to-use 3D controls. The Visible Body apps are available for use on desktop and mobile devices.
* Mode of access: World Wide Web. Unity Web Player 4.3+ plug-in is required to view content. Plug-in can be downloaded at https://unity.com/
* Human Anatomy Atlas: To access MRI/CT scans when in cross-section, open up any of the options. See section on the far left titled 'images'. Click on the side tab and the MR or CT scan to see the images.
* Please note:
o Activation Codes can be used only one time on one device.
o Your Activation code does NOT expire (no matter how much time passes between you receiving the codes and actually getting around to using it).
o After you use an Activation Code within an app the app will be available to you for a 12 month period.
o To continue using your app offline and off campus, open your Visible Body app on campus at least once every 150 days.
An@tomediaThis link opens in a new windowThis resource incorporates detailed images of real, serial dissection and medical images together with interactive, educational text and quiz questions. An@tomedia contains 4,000 images, 6,000 text questions and 30,000 image quiz questions using 1,500 interactive screens. Also includes online access to title: General Anatomy: Principles and Applications, Eizenberg et al, 2008, McGraw-Hill (ISBN 9780070134676).
Clinical Guide to Musculoskeletal MedicineThis unique clinical guide will explore specific evidence-based literature supporting physical therapist guided exercises and interventional treatments for commonly prevalent orthopedic spine and extremity presentations. Using this book, the sports medicine and interventional pain physician will be better able to coordinate therapy exercises after interventional treatments with their physical therapy colleagues. This will include a treatment course that will monitor progress in restoring and accelerating patients' function. A myriad of musculoskeletal conditions affecting the spine, joints and extremities will be presented, including tendinopathies, bursopathies, arthritis, fractures and dislocations - everything a clinician can expect to see in a thriving practice. Each chapter, co-authored by a physician and a physical therapist, will follow a consistent format for ease of accessibility and reference - introduction to the topic; diagnosis; medical, interventional, and surgical management - and will be accompanied by relevant radiographis, figures and illustrations. Additional topics include osteoarthritis, rheumatic disorders, entrapment syndromes, the use of orthobiologics, and more. Comprehensive enough to function as a learning tool, but practical and user-friendly enough for quick reference, Clinical Guide to Musculoskeletal Medicine will be an essential resource for sports medicine physicians, interventional and physical therapists.
Publication Date: 2022
Clinical Reasoning in Musculoskeletal PracticeClinical reasoning is a key skill underpinning clinical expertise. Clinical Reasoning in Musculoskeletal Practice is essential reading for the musculoskeletal practitioner to gain the contemporary knowledge and thinking capacity necessary to advance their reasoning skills. Now in its 2nd edition, it is the only all-in-one volume of up-to-date clinical reasoning knowledge with real-world case examples illustrating expert clinical reasoning. This new edition includes: . Comprehensively updated material and brand new chapters on pain science, psychosocial factors, and clinical prediction rules. . The latest clinical reasoning theory and practical strategies for learning and facilitating clinical reasoning skills. . Cutting-edge pain research and relevant psychosocial clinical considerations made accessible for the musculoskeletal practitioner. . The role of clinical prediction rules in musculoskeletal clinical reasoning. . 25 all new real-world, clinical cases by internationally renowned expert clinicians allowing you to compare your reasoning to that of the best.
Publication Date: 2019
Tidy's PhysiotherapyA classic textbook and a student favourite, Tidy's Physiotherapy aims to reflect contemporary practice of physiotherapy and can be used as a quick reference by the physiotherapy undergraduate, for major problems that they may encounter throughout their study, or while on clinical placement. Tidy's Physiotherapy is a resource which charts a range of popular subject areas. It also encourages the student to think about problem-solving and basic decision-making in a practice setting, presenting case studies to consolidate and apply learning. In this fifteenth edition, new chapters have been added and previous chapters withdrawn, continuing its reflection of contemporary education and practice. Chapters have again been written by experts who come from a wide range of clinical and academic backgrounds. The new edition is complemented by an accompanying online ancillary which offers access to over 50 video clips on musculoskeletal tests, massage and exercise and an image bank along with the addition of crosswords and MCQs for self-assessment. Now with new chapters on: Reflection Collaborative health and social care / interprofessional education Clinical leadership Pharmacology Muscle imbalance Sports management Acupuncture in physiotherapy Management of Parkinson's and of older people Neurodynamics Part of the Physiotherapy Essentials series - core textbooks for both students and lecturers! Covers a comprehensive range of clinical, academic and professional subjects Annotated illustrations to simplify learning Definition, Key Point and Weblink boxes Online access to over 50 video clips and 100's of dowloadable images (http://evolve.elsevier.com/Porter/Tidy) Online resources via Evolve Learning with video clips, image bank, crosswords and MCQs! Log on and register at http://evolve.elsevier.com/Porter/Tidy Case studies Additional illustrations
Publication Date: 2013
Cardiopulmonary Physiotherapy in TraumaTrauma is a serious public health problem worldwide and is the leading cause of death among adults and children. Physiotherapists play a key role in the interdisciplinary team caring for patients with physical injury after a traumatic event. Cardiopulmonary Physiotherapy in Trauma offers valuable insight into the advanced trauma life support and acute care management of patients with trauma-related injuries, as well as physiotherapy treatment aims, intervention strategies and precautions to treatment.A variety of topics related to trauma are brought together in this practical volume, which shares information obtained from published research as well as the extensive clinical expertise of the authors. The dissemination of the authors' personal experience is key in cases where evidence to support the use of certain treatment techniques in patients with traumatic injury is still lacking. The book is thus an essential reference that encourages evidence-based practice for advanced undergraduate students, as well as graduate physiotherapists who work with trauma patients in the acute care setting.
Publication Date: 2015
Physiotherapy for Adult Neurological ConditionsThis is a comprehensive book on physiotherapy for adult neurological disorders with chapters describing physiotherapy assessment and management for those adult patients in the acute care and rehabilitation units of hospitals or centers. Each chapter additionally provides brief introduction, historical background, etiology, pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, medical and surgical management. The aim is to help build a theoretical foundation on which principles of management are laid, and to improve and update the readers' clinical and therapeutic skills. Improving the overall care and management of patients suffering from adult neurological conditions such as stroke, Parkinson's disease, traumatic brain injury, and multiple sclerosis, is the key objective. Supported with ample practical contents (exercise training and therapeutic strategies) and pictures it prepares the readers to effectively manage patients with neurological conditions. The contents of this book will serve as a guide and source of knowledge of both contemporary and advanced treatment techniques for undergraduate and post-graduate students and therapists practicing worldwide in adult neurological physiotherapy.
Publication Date: 2022
Exercise Therapy for Recovery from HemiplegiaThis book introduces an innovative, efficient, and patient-friendly neural net constructive therapy for patients with mild to severe hemiplegia, not only in the recovery phase but also in acute and chronic phases. The explanations are supported by extensive photographs of each position and a set of 72 video clips to help readers follow and reproduce the techniques. This book explains the theory of Repetitive Facilitative Exercise (RFE), which is a combination of repetitive volitional flexion and extension movements from neurofacilitation approaches. This exercise is aimed at achieving the intended movements and lessening synergistic movement patterns by reconstructing and strengthening the neuropathways of the injured nerve tract. Instead of interpreting disorders based on reflex theory and constructing treatment methods, the new approach considers scientific treatment methods that emphasize the formation of neural pathways by improving synapse formation and transmission efficiency based on functional localization, central programs, and neural nets. Chapters provide a basic theory of RFE, offering the underlying mechanisms of nerve tract formation/strengthening, such as functional localization, voluntary movement, plasticity, and neural lateral sprouting, giving readers a comprehensive understanding of the prompt and repetitive therapy. This is followed by an exposition of practice and techniques, planning of treatment programs, and facilitation techniques for voluntary movements of the upper limb, individual fingers, and lower limb. Finally, the book introduces RFE to facilitate and enhance motor skills in walking and other functions. Exercise Therapy for Recovery from Hemiplegia - Theory and Practice of Repetitive Facilitative Exercise will provide rehabilitation therapists, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, and medical doctors a refreshing alternative theory and practice to current approaches. Neuroscience researchers, stroke patients, and their families would find this book informative.
Publication Date: 2022
Acute Care Physical TherapyAcutely ill patients are found in the hospital, in the skilled nursing facility, in inpatient rehabilitation facilities, in outpatient practices, and in the home. The role of the physical therapist and physical therapist assistant is to rehabilitate these vulnerable and frail patients to enhance their health and functioning. The goal of Acute Care Physical Therapy: A Clinician's Guide, Second Edition is to provide the acute care practitioner with the necessary knowledge to improve patients' structural impairments and activity limitations so they can more successfully participate in life. Nothing could be more challenging and rewarding. Inside, Drs. Daniel Malone and Kathy Lee Bishop, along with their contributors, provide a comprehensive review of acute care physical therapist best practice. This text builds upon fundamental knowledge by addressing important components of the patient examination ranging from the patient's medical history to laboratory testing to life supporting equipment. Following this introduction, each chapter highlights specific organ systems with a review of pertinent anatomy and physiology followed by common health conditions and medical management. Important physical therapy concerns, examination findings, and rehabilitation interventions are discussed in detail. This Second Edition includes numerous tables, figures, review questions, and case studies that highlight clinical reasoning and the physical therapy patient care model as outlined in the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice. New in the Second Edition: Increased focus on evidence-based examination, evaluation, and intervention The latest technology in physiologic monitoring and patient support equipment Introduces the "PT Examination" and "ICU" algorithms to promote safe and progressive rehabilitation Emphasis on clinical decision making through the application of a clinical reasoning model applied to the end of chapter cases Acute Care Physical Therapy: A Clinician's Guide, Second Edition will serve as a valuable education tool for students, newer professionals as well as post-professionals who provide therapy services to the acutely ill patient regardless of setting.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
Covers nursing and allied health. Topics covered include nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Search using keywords and CINAHL headings. Evidence-Based Care Sheets provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options
Hot Articles is a mini window that goes on a web page and shows popular articles in broad subject areas (as defined by ExLibris). In each subject area, bX Hot Articles displays a list of up to ten articles and is based on selections made by millions of researchers from thousands of academic institutions around the world. Note: This list is updated once a month.