Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
APAFT - Australian Public Affairs - Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Full text articles: 1995 - Present; Index: 1978 - Present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival repository of full-text journals and books, covering a range of subject areas.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, history of printing and publishing, listings on rhetoric and composition, and history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
EBSCOHost - Index of international music periodicals providing access to historiographic, enthnographic, and musicological data. Coverage: 1979 - current.
Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
Music & Performing Arts Collection This link opens in a new window
This Proquest database combines cross-searchable, seminal bibliographies in music and performing arts, with full-text from hundreds of journals. Subjects: Music, Performing Arts, Dance, Theater, Film. Coverage: 1864 - Current.
Open Music Library
Enables in-depth searching of free music content curated by international music scholars, students, teachers and librarians. This collection holds journal articles, books, scores, audio and video performances in one free index.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Indexes of journals in humanities, arts, social sciences, education, medicine, and health, and access to books via the University Press Content Consortium (UPCC).
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, with records and summaries dating back to the 1600s, and journal coverage from the 1800s to the present.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)