Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
Standards Online Premium (SAI Global)
The SAI Global platform provides full-text access to current Australian standards and most handbooks published by Standards Australia.
You must register for an account, Standards Online platform will be prompted to register using student or staff email address
to authenticate (one-time only). You also need to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device. Click here for instructions & more info
**Access to this resource not currently available via mobile device.**
Uses a web-based database to provide access to Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) and draws from a library collection of more than 13 million MSDSs maintained by ChemWatch’s global database system. ChemWatch is available to members of the university community providing MSDS information, basic labelling, risk assessment for a range of chemicals used in laboratories. The database is dedicated to the improvement of Safety, Health and Environment.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
A major resource for allied Health professionals. Includes some full text articles which covers topics including allied health, management, behavioural sciences, biomedicine and education.
Covers a range of subjects within a health and medicine context including ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation, therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health, mental health, complementary therapies, and health services management. The full text Collection from 1977 contains journals, books, conference proceedings.
ScienceDirect is a multi-disciplinary full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, health and safety, toxicology and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access. See also the ScienceDirect Quick Reference Guide.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)