Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias and textbooks are good starting points for your research topic
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
OTseeker is an open access database of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Covers nursing and allied health. Topics covered include nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Search using keywords and CINAHL headings. Evidence-Based Care Sheets provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options
PubMed Clinical Queries
Provides a quick way to use pre-defined filters for selecting MEDLINE studies in four areas: therapy, diagnosis, etiology and prognosis.
REHABDATA (National Rehabilitation Information Center)
Leading database on disability and rehabilitation on the internet. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Some full-text available. The collection spans 1956 to the present
This is a searchable database on the internet. Best evidence is pre-rated for quality by research staff, then rated for clinical relevance and interest by at least 3 members of a worldwide panel of practicing occupational and physical therapists.
How does Hot Articles work?
Hot Articles is a mini window that goes on a web page and shows popular articles in broad subject areas (as defined by ExLibris). In each subject area, bX Hot Articles displays a list of up to ten articles and is based on selections made by millions of researchers from thousands of academic institutions around the world. Note: This list is updated once a month.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)