Find open access publishing sources
Open access finder tools
Use these resources to find open access publishing sources with a rigorous quality control system and ethical practices to guarantee quality content.
- Scopus Sources — enables you to browse a list of all journals, book series, trade publications, and conference proceedings available on Scopus or that are accessed from other external websites using Scopus. Filter by display options such as open access sources and CiteScore highest quartile. Includes CiteScore metrics and other features for each publishing source.
- SCImago Journal & Country Rank — this openly available portal includes indicators to assess and analyse journals, including ranking information from the Scopus database (sign in using your WSU institutional login).
- JCR - Journal Citation Reports (sign in using your WSU institutional login) — evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from the Web of Science (Clarivate).
- DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals — extensive index of fully open access journals and information to assist with the selection process (note: does not cover all open access journals).
Open access resources
- Open Access Australasia — provides links to centralised searches for open access research and links to all institutional repositories holding open access material in Australia and New Zealand.
- HowOpenIsIt? A Guide for Evaluating the Openness of Journals — provides standardised terminology on open access characteristics such as reader rights, copyright, and author posting rights.
- SPARC - The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition — is an international alliance of academic and research libraries working to correct imbalances in the scholarly publishing system.
More open access directories
- DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books — this directory aims to improve the discoverability of open access books
- ROAD - Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources — provides a single access point to different types of online scholarly resources published worldwide and freely available
- OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories — is a global directory of academic open access repositories and their policies
- CORE — service that aggregates open access research papers from repositories and journals and makes them available to the public.