Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for journals (with no embargo) indexed in CINAHL, along with video tutorial content. Coverage: 1937 - Present.
MEDLINE (Ovid )
Includes the most complete version of Ovid MEDLINE, with all year ranges and content from the various Ovid MEDLINE options. In-process articles for MEDLINE are available from this link. Coverage: 1946 to Present. OVID updates
are also available.
ClinicalKey for Nursing
* Log in with your personal account details in order to download book chapters. Set up a personal account by registering online for remote access *
Please read the term and conditions of use that you agree to when you registered to download book chapters https://www.elsevier.com/legal/elsevier-website-terms-and-conditions
You can print, download and store a reasonable portion of book chapters, however downloading all the chapters from one eBook or many eBooks would not be considered a reasonable portion and may result in losing your access to ClinicalKey for Nursing. Browse Multimedia
for video content. Search for ebook title
Includes information on the effects of interventions in health care, and consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. See also the video tutorial on Cochrane Library Systematic Reviews
Database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Journal coverage from the 1800s to current.
Comprehensive pharmaceutical database of prescription and non-prescription drugs, incorporating information from MIMS Bi-Monthly and MIMS Annual.
Nursing and Allied Health Database
Includes healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and coverage on topics including cytology, nursing, nutrition, oncology, pediatric care, pharmacology, public health, and radiology, with video clips from leading providers on assessment, procedures, anatomy, and more.
Nursing and Mental Health in Video
Features videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other.
Nursing Assessment in Video
Provides demonstrations and step-by-step instructions for performing physical assessments of patients.
Nursing Education in Video
Collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.
Nursing Reference Center
Provides access to recent clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases, patient education, labs and diagnostics, as well as drug and reference information.
JoVE : Science Education
- Nursing Skills I
-demonstrates medication preparation and administration, with videos highlighting important safety checks, considerations, dosage calculations, and common mistakes associated with improper medication administration.
- Physical Examinations I
-provides a foundation for performing physical exams; with techniques ranging from measuring blood pressure or vital signs, to key pulmonary and cardiovascular physical examinations.
- Physical Examinations II
-this collection is a specialized edition featuring methodologies and procedures associated with more sensitive and comprehensive physical exams such as HEENT exams, abdominal exams, and pelvic exams.
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and Library collections such as ClinicalKey via PubMed LinkOut. Includes additional content holding the NLM (U.S. National Library of Medicine) search service with access to citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases.
How does Hot Articles work?
Hot Articles is a mini window that goes on a web page and shows popular articles in broad subject areas (as defined by ExLibris). In each subject area, bX Hot Articles displays a list of up to ten articles and is based on selections made by millions of researchers from thousands of academic institutions around the world. Note: This list is updated once a month.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)