Metrics for Grant Applications and Promotions

Which major database best represents you

Search for your publication metrics in these databases to see which one represents you the best:

• Web of Science
  A collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
• Scopus
  A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.

Watch how to navigate and use Web of Science and Scopus (YouTube playlist).

More in-depth performance metrics

• InCites: Benchmarking and Analytics
  InCites is a customised, citation-based research analytics tool that enables you to evaluate institutional productivity and benchmark your output against peers worldwide. Register an email address to sign into InCites from anywhere. If you are not on campus and have not yet created an InCites account, you may need to use a Westerm Virtual Private Network (VPN) to get access.
• SciVal
  SciVal is a web-based strategic analysis tool that enables academic executives to make informed strategic decisions by measuring and evaluating an institution's research performance. Users must register with a username and password.

First, set up a populated ResearcherID on Web of Science of your publications in Web of Science.

Note: If you have recently updated or created your ResearcherID, it may take two weeks to see your ResearcherID information reflected in Web of Science.

In Web of Science:

1. On the researchers tab, select Author Identifiers from the drop-down menu (under Name Search) and search for your ORCID or your Web of Science ResearcherID
   • Note: If your ORCID or Researcher ID are not up to date, you can perform a name search instead. Watch Web of Science Author Profile for tips on how to clean up your Web of Science profile.
2. Click View Citation Report for an overview of your publication metrics.
   • Note: We recommend meeting abstracts are removed from your publication list. This is because they are unlikely to attract citations and can reduce your average citations per item.
3. To remove meeting abstracts, click the hyperlinked number of publications. Scroll to Document Types (filter) and exclude any meeting abstracts from the list.
   • Watch Using Web of Science to find your publications and track record metrics (YouTube, 5m18s) to learn more
4. Click Analyze Results and explore the options.

• Web of Science Categories will show what subject areas you are publishing in
• Authors will show who you are collaborating with
• Countries/Regions and Affiliations will indicate where your co-authors are from

Who is citing your work

1. From the Citation Report, click the Citing Articles number
2. Click Analyze Results to see who cites you the most and where they are from.

Watch Using Web of Science to find your publication and citing information (YouTube, 3m23s) to learn more

For a group of papers you've authored, you can use the advanced metrics provided in InCites: Benchmarking and Analytics to get a deeper understanding of impact and performance. InCites metrics are based on your authored publications in Web of Science.

Steps:

In InCites:

1. Click the dropdown to the left of the Report and click Researcher Report.
2. Under Person Name, click the dropdown to the right of Unique ID Search and select Web of Science ResearcherID or ORCID.
   • See Researcher Profiles if you have not yet set up a ResearcherID or ORCID iD and added all of your publications to your profile
   • You can also opt to change the date range
3. To download a PDF copy of the report, click Download PDF.
• The report includes data relating to your Research Output, Collaboration and Most Cited Documents.
4. To view additional data, go back to the report within the interface and scroll down to see the metrics relating to your Research Output, including your h-index, Documents Published, % Documents in the Top 10% and Times Cited.
5. Click View Data under the Documents Published by WOS Categories infographic to see how your papers are performing.

In the table, you can view performance metrics for your papers across different WOS categories.

---

Metrics in InCites

InCites provides metrics for a varied perspective into your performance:

% Documents in Top 1%

The percentage of your papers that have been cited enough times to place them in the top 1% (when compared to papers in the same category, year, and of the same document type). You can also get the number of papers in the top 1%.

% Documents in Top 10%

The percentage of your papers that have been cited enough times to place them in the top 10%. This is normalized for category, year, and document type. You can also get the number of papers in the top 10%.

Category Normalized Citation Impact

CNCI is an indicator of impact normalized for subject focus, age, and document type. A CNCI value of one represents performance at par with world average, values above one are considered above average, and values below one are considered below average. A CNCI value of two is considered twice the world average.

% Industry Collaborations

The percentage of your papers produced with co-authors from industry.

% International Collaborations

The percentage of your papers produced with international co-authors.

To identify performance metrics for each paper you've authored, follow the Top papers in InCites instructions.

To find your metrics in Scopus:

1. Click on Authors and enter Author details (don't need an affiliation)
2. Go to your Author details profile - by clicking on the author's name. Note: If your name appears more than once, you can request to merge authors. How to make corrections to your author profile tutorial explains how to do this.
3. Select your name and you will be presented with your profile, including publications. If you have more than one profile, select each profile and click Show documents.
4. Click View list in search results format.
5. Click Analyze search results to explore your collaboration, subject areas and more. Or click All and click View citation overview to explore your trend in citations.

Watch Using Scopus to find your publications and track record metrics (YouTube, 3m23s)

Who is citing your work…

1. Click the tab Cited by xx documents
2. Click View them in search results format
3. Click Analyze search results to explore what authors are citing you and where they are from (institution, country, journal published in).

Watch Using Scopus to find who is citing your publications (YouTube, 2m34s)

The following steps will help you find metrics for your top-performing papers and collaboration in SciVal. SciVal metrics are based on your authored publications in Scopus.

Steps:

1. Access SciVal and create a login (if you don't have one already)
2. On the homepage fill in your last name and first name in the Are you a researcher section
3. Click Find my profile
   
4. Complete the process of setting up your research profile, validating your publications if required
   • If you have multiple profiles that are yours, you can request to merge them
   • Click This is me - connect this researcher profile to my SciVal account, so you can find your profile easily next time
5. Click the Reporting tab
   
6. Select the template you wish to use. You will then be prompted to create a report from template.
7. Select yourself from the list of researcher/s and click Add selected OR drag the entity across (note: if you've completed steps 1-3 you should see yourself here)
8. Click next step and you will be prompted to name your report so you can save it.
9. Click Create report
10. The report should now be displayed. You can edit the year range from the drop-down menu.
    
11. You can also choose to export the report to a spreadsheet file (CSV OR XLSX) and other formats from the save as drop-down menu.
12. If you wish to edit the analyses, click Explore/edit analysis
    
13. You will now be able to see all of these metrics in the Benchmarking module, where you can make further changes (e.g. add additional metrics)
    
14. Click Export to export the data to a CSV or XLSX file.

Useful indicators

• the average Field-Weighted Citation Impact (FWCI) for your publications (note: interpret with care when <20 publications)
• Outputs in Top Citation Percentiles (field-weighted)
  • This will tell you how many publications you have in the top 1%, 5%, 10% (with respect to documents of the same discipline, type and age)

Details about each of SciVal's metrics indicators

See Top papers in SciVal to identify how each of your papers are performing, and identify those that are performing well within their field.

If you set up a Google Scholar Citations Profile, it will display the following metrics for your listed publications:

• Citations (citation count)
• h-index
• i10-index

These citations may come from anywhere online, so:

• Always check who is citing you and what they are saying
• Click the Follow button in your profile to get alerts whenever you are cited.

It is possible to see if your publication has been cited by other documents in the citation databases (Web of Science or Scopus), even if you have publications that are not indexed in those databases.

Conduct a cited reference search for publications that have cited a reference. In the cited reference searching process you:

1. Start with a reference (normally a journal article or book) that you have read and which is important for your research
2. Search for other publications that have cited that reference.

Why use cited reference searching?

If the reference that you started with was highly relevant to your research, other publications may have cited references that are also relevant to your research.

Cited reference searching is a useful alternative to keyword searching. With cited reference searching, you search with concrete search terms — the title and author of the cited reference.

Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar (Advanced Search) are three major databases particularly useful for cited reference searching.

• Web of Science will find citations for most items as long as it's been cited by something indexed in Web of Science
• Scopus will find citations in major journals and scholarly websites
  1. Enter the title of the reference in the search box, enclosed in double quotation marks
  2. If necessary, add a second search field to also search for the author’s last name. Alternatively, try adding just the author's name and a few words from the title.
• Google Scholar will find citations in electronic journal websites and scholarly websites
  1. Go to Google Scholar Advanced Search to display all the search options
  2. Use the exact phrase search box for the title of the reference
  3. For where my words occur select in the title of the article
  4. Use the return articles authored by search box for the author’s last name
  5. Search to locate the reference
  6. Click on Cited by to display the references which cite the reference.

In theory, you can perform cited reference searching in any full-text database. If the database contains the full text of books or articles, then you should be able to search the references and bibliographies of those books and articles. You can:

• Perform cited reference searching in journal article databases, such as JSTOR and ScienceDirect
• Use databases that contain the full text of books, such as Google Book Search
• Use databases that contain abstracts only but which index all the cited references in the articles which they abstract, e.g., APA PsycNet.