Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
Includes engineering books, instructional, faculty made videos, Excel spreadsheet calculator tools, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalisation tools to help organise crucial project information. Includes Data Visualisation tools
-For help getting started with DataVis, watch video tutorial
Art & Architecture Complete
Topics include antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design.
Art, Design & Architecture Collection
Includes a comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. Subjects: Art history, Architecture and architectural history, Crafts, ceramics, glass and jewellery, Decorative art and antiques, Fashion, textiles and dress, Furniture and interior design, Industrial design, Modern and contemporary art, Museums and conservation, Photography. Coverage: 1973 to Current.
Engineering Village (including Compendex)
Bibliographic database of research literature for engineering, computing, mathematics and related disciplines. Contains references, engineering journals and conferences. From September 2016 Engineering Village will include Knovel.com abstracts. Coverage : 1884 - current.
* When prompted, please register/log in using your institutional email address and password for Elsevier *
ScienceDirect includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed technical, health and scientific journals spanning 24 major scientific disciplines to both historical and the most current techical and medical research.
Standards Online Premium (SAI Global)
The SAI Global platform provides full-text access to current Australian standards and most handbooks published by Standards Australia.
You must register for an account, Standards Online platform will be prompted to register using student or staff email address
to authenticate (one-time only). You also need to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device. Click here for instructions & more info
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO)
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)