Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indigenous Studies: Home

Acknowledgement of Traditional Owners at Western Sydney University

* Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this Guide contains images and voices of deceased people.*

 

 Source: 'Tree of Knowledge' painted by Mrs Janice Bruny for Western Sydney University

Western Sydney University acknowledges the peoples of the Darug, Tharawal, Eora and Wiradjuri nations. We also acknowledge that the teaching and learning currently delivered across our campuses is a continuance of the teaching and learning that has occurred on these lands for tens of thousands of years. Image Source: 'Tree of Knowledge' painted by Mrs Janice Bruny for Western Sydney University

New eBooks

 

Relevant Article Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a link to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page

Dharawal Pharmacopeia

The Library is proud to announce that the Dharawal Pharmacopeia is now available to staff and students of the University, thanks to the generosity of Auntie Fran who has gifted this significant collection of Indigenous knowledge to the University for research, education and community engagement.

The Pharmacopeia catalogues the medicinal properties of native plants found in Dharawal country. Staff and students of the University can access an electronic copy of the Dharawal Pharmacopeia at the following location, and prospective external users can fill in a request form for approval by Auntie Fran.

Use of the content in the Pharmacopeia is governed by strict Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property (ICIP) guidelines. Dealing with any part of the traditional knowledge incorporated in the Dharawal Pharmacopoeia for publications and commercial exploitation that has not been authorised by Auntie Frances (Fran) Bodkin and the Dharawal people is a serious breach of the customary laws of the Indigenous community and may also breach the Copyright Act 1968. For more information please contact copyright@westernsydney.edu.au.

You can access the Dharawal Pharmacopeia in the Library collection.

Indigenous Learning and Teaching Showcase

Referencing & Citation

Link to Referencing & Citation page

Contact Us

Profile Photo
ic @westernsydney.edu.au

Phone Phone   Email Email Us  FAQs FAQs


Find answers to common problems with logging into library databases here.

Other Relevant Guides

Yarramundi Lecture

The Yarramundi Lecture provides a forum for the discussion of issues of local and national importance. It was established out of respect and recognition of First Nations People and has become central to the University's longstanding commitment to its Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.

Western Sydney University Publications

© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)