Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
APAFT - Australian Public Affairs - Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Full text articles: 1995 - Present; Index: 1978 - Present.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Contains images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Adam Matthew, Empire Online, includes material related to colonial history and culture, which spans across the last five centuries (1600 to 20th century) including literature, art, religion, race, and class, as well as imperialism and colonialism in the colonised and colonising countries.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 onwards, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Coverage: 1955 - Present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library provides digitized back issues of academic journals, ebooks and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window
Adam Matthew Mass Observation online, access archives for the study of social history in the modern era: from the end of the 'Hungry Thirties' to the onset of the Second World War; the Blitz; and the post-War world of consumerism and television. Includes Parts I, II, III and IV.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Indexes of journals in humanities, arts, social sciences, education, medicine, and health, and access to books via the University Press Content Consortium (UPCC).
U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
Collection of working documents of the British government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. It covers Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials. Includes access to 18th, 19th, 20th and 21st Century Collections. Search by Command Papers by Number, Debates, or Members, Offices & Constituencies.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)