Subject Guides: Health Sciences: Home

Key Article Databases

These databases provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. Search these databases and locate scholarly peer-reviewed full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations on your chosen topic. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing and allied health. Topics covered include nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Search using keywords and CINAHL headings. Evidence-Based Care Sheets provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Embase via OvidSP This link opens in a new window
Major biomedical and pharmaceutical database Subject coverage includes: drug research, pharmacology, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, Chinese medicine and forensic medicine. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, and psychology. Embase covers essential biomedical information for high-quality systematic reviews.
MEDLINE (Ovid ) This link opens in a new window
Includes the most complete version of Ovid MEDLINE, with all year ranges and content from the various Ovid MEDLINE options. In-process articles for MEDLINE are available from this link. Coverage: 1946 to Present. OVID updates are also available.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Coverage includes journal articles; books, book chapters and dissertations on psychological aspects of disease including anxiety, depression, dementia and health related quality of life. Search results can be limited by methodology filter e.g. Qualitative studies with test and measures.
Health Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a range of subjects within a health context. Full text publications: 1977 - Present; Index: 1977 - Present.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes information on the effects of interventions in health care, and consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. See also the video tutorial on Cochrane Library Systematic Reviews.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and Library collections such as ClinicalKey via PubMed LinkOut. Includes additional content holding the NLM (U.S. National Library of Medicine) search service with access to citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles for all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, and surgery.