Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Our databases provide access to a range of high quality scholarly resources, such as journal articles and books chapters. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings and other publications. Subject areas covered Business, Computing and Engineering, Education, Law, Medicine, Social Science & Humanities, Science & Health.
AustLII This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to Australian law journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the most important scholarly business journals as far back as 1886. Covers content on geography and urban planning from a business perspective. Coverage: 1886 - Present.
Informit databases This link opens in a new window
Provides cross-searchable access to all Informit databases. This includes Humanities & Social Sciences Collection, MAIS - Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies, SAGE Science and Geography Education and APAFT - Australian Public Affairs - Full Text. Other databases may also cover geography and urban planning content.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. Multidisciplinary database across subjects areas, covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, science, technology, social sciences and more. Choose to search individual databases or search all at once.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE journals discipline includes, health sciences, materials sciences & engineering, social sciences & humanities, life & biomedical sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
* When prompted, please register/log in using your institutional email address and password for Elsevier *
ScienceDirect includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed technical, health and scientific journals spanning 24 major scientific disciplines to both historical and the most current techical and medical research.
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full text access to Springer journals, books and book series. Multidisciplinary database and subject coverage includes social sciences and geography and urban planning topics.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database which covers content relating to geography and urban planning.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)