Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
AccessScience primary research material, videos, and downloadable images and animations illustrating key topics in the area of science. See: instructions
for off campus access.
AGIS Plus Text
Covers all aspects of law. Full text articles: 1999 - Present; Index: 1975 - Present.
Biological Science Database
A full-text database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
SciTech Premium Collection
Includes the Natural Science Collection, Science, and Technology Collection databases. Covers comprehensive scholarly output, managed by an expert editorial team overseeing content selection and indexing supported by a controlled vocabulary. Subject Area(s): Agriculture Science, Environmental Science, Biological Science, Earth Science, Atmospheric Science, Aquatic Science, Aerospace, Advanced Technologies, Materials Science, Engineering. Coverage: 1946 - Current.
* When prompted, please register/log in using your institutional email address and password for Elsevier *
ScienceDirect includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed technical, health and scientific journals spanning 24 major scientific disciplines to both historical and the most current techical and medical research.
SciFinder [first time user Registration]
SciFinder Scholar registration link. Users will need to use an on-campus computer to create an account.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)