Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting points for background information when researching a topic.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for journals indexed in CINAHL along with video tutorial content. Coverage: 1937 - Present. Covers journals on nutrition and health, nutrition related diseases, nutritional assessment of diet and disease
Agricultural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains agricultural science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA. AGRICOLA is the definitive bibliographic database to agricultural science literature. Coverage: 1970 - Current.
CAB Abstracts via Ovid. This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts coverage of the applied life sciences includes agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science, and nutrition, from 1973 - current.
CSIRO This link opens in a new window
The CSIRO publishes journals presenting the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists and covering a broad range of subjects.
MEDLINE (Ovid ) This link opens in a new window
Includes the most complete version of Ovid MEDLINE, with all year ranges and content from the various Ovid MEDLINE options. In-process articles for MEDLINE are available from this link. Coverage: 1946 to Present. OVID updates
are also available.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. Multidisciplinary database across subjects areas, covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, science, technology, social sciences and more. Choose to search individual databases or search all at once.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
* When prompted, please register/log in using your institutional email address and password for Elsevier *
ScienceDirect includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed technical, health and scientific journals spanning 24 major scientific disciplines to both historical and the most current techical and medical research.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley online provides peer reviewed journals, books and reference covering humanities, science & Health, business & management, chemistry, computing, engineering & Mathematics, social sciences & psychology.
How does Hot Articles work?
Hot Articles is a mini window that goes on a web page and shows popular articles in broad subject areas (as defined by ExLibris). In each subject area, bX Hot Articles displays a list of up to ten articles and is based on selections made by millions of researchers from thousands of academic institutions around the world. Note: This list is updated once a month.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)