Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of the environment. Coverage: 1940 - Present.
Environmental Impact Statements: Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government. Coverage: 1985 - Present.
Environmental Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains film covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
A full-text database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
CAB Abstracts via Ovid. This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts coverage of the applied life sciences includes agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science, and nutrition, from 1973 - current.
JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Discover a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
* When prompted, please register/log in using your institutional email address and password for Elsevier *
ScienceDirect includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed technical, health and scientific journals spanning 24 major scientific disciplines to both historical and the most current techical and medical research.
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic content in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Coverage: 1999 - Present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)