Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
JSTOR is a digital library provides digitized back issues of academic journals, ebooks and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Indexes of journals in humanities, arts, social sciences, education, medicine, and health, and access to books via the University Press Content Consortium (UPCC).
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, history of printing and publishing, listings on rhetoric and composition, and history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
AUSTLIT: The Australian Literature Resource
Resource for Australian literature and storytelling, including exhibitions, awards, and rich online content, with material dating largely from c.1788 to the present - children's literature not included. Coverage: 1988 - Present.
Australasian Literature: Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands
Brings together creative works from throughout Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands from the 1930s to the present. Includes interviews and video content.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) - Text Creation Partnership
Full text titles from the ProQuest resource Early English Books Online (EEBO) are now openly available on the websites of the University of Michigan Library and the Bodleian Libraries at the University of Oxford.
Early European Books
Traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to 1701. Developed and produced with scholars, rare book librarians, bibliographers, and other experts. Offers full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books in Europe. View Early European Books content plotted on the interactive historical map
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Access the Gale digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)