Contact Us
Referencing & Citation
Other Relevant Guides
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO)
APO’s searchable digital repository is a rich collection of material published by organisations (also known as grey literature) on any public policy issue – covering Australia, New Zealand and beyond.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes engineering books, instructional, faculty made videos, Excel spreadsheet calculator tools, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalisation tools to help organise crucial project information. Includes Data Visualisation tools.
-For help getting started with DataVis, watch video tutorial. - Engineering Collection This link opens in a new windowCovers a range of subjects within an engineering context including civil engineering, mining, environmental engineering, road and rail, and municipal engineering. Full text publications: 1973 - Present; Index: 1973 - Present.
- Engineering Village (including Compendex) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of research literature for engineering, computing, mathematics and related disciplines. Contains references, engineering journals and conferences. From September 2016 Engineering Village will include Knovel.com abstracts. Coverage : 1884 - current. - IEEE Xplore: Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of standards, periodicals and conferences published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Coverage: 1988 - current.
- IET Digital Library eBooks This link opens in a new windowThe Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) is a multidisciplinary professional engineering institution. This ultimate ebooks collection (1979-2022) includes computing, electronic and electrical engineer, telecommunications, circuits, power, materials and IT research related.
- JoVe Science Education collectionJoVE Science Education is a video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations.
• Bioengineering
• Biomedical Engineering
• Electrical Engineering
• Materials Engineering
• Mechanical Engineering
• Structural Engineering
• Physics
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. Multidisciplinary database across subjects areas, covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, science, technology, social sciences and more. Choose to search individual databases or search all at once. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed with high-quality journals, books and reference content.
* When prompted, please register/log in using your institutional email address and password for Elsevier *
In 2023 WSU student and staff have access to over 290 selected Elsevier Textbook titles.
Training and user guide - Australian Standards (TechStreet) [choose login below, this link to introductory video] This link opens in a new windowFor Students. - Log in using your Student ID@student.westernsydney.edu.au
For Staff. - Log in using Staff ID@westernsydney.edu.au
* First time user, please select your closest campus location *
WSU has 3 user Licence.
With Techstreet Enterprise, you can:
• Read online by using the View Online button. However, you cannot copy or print from the online reader.
• Download and read any standard in your subscription.
• Create lists of related standards for easy access and updates.
In order to open a standard you have downloaded in Secure PDF format, you will need to install Adobe Acrobat Reader with the FileOpen plug-in. FileOpen is compatible with the following versions of Acrobat:
- NCC (National Construction Code)The current series - in addition to the historical versions - of the NCC (National Construction Code) are now available free to download in PDF format. To get your free copy, and notification of future updates, register via the ABCB (Australian Building Codes Board) website. For more information go to the NCC Online FAQs page.
Key Resources
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journals
Print and electronic journals can be located via the Journal Search.