Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Our databases provide access to a range of high quality scholarly resources, such as journal articles and books chapters. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-resources page.
Archival repository of full-text journals and books, covering a range of subject areas.
Indexes of journals in humanities, arts, social sciences, education, medicine, and health, and access to books via the University Press Content Consortium (UPCC).
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, history of printing and publishing, listings on rhetoric and composition, and history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Early European Books
Traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to 1701. Developed and produced with scholars, rare book librarians, bibliographers, and other experts. Offers full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books in Europe. View Early European Books content plotted on the interactive historical map
Digitised newspapers and more (1803-1982)
Access historic Australian newspapers digitised as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (part of the Trove search service). Note: Includes full-text access to The Age [Melbourne], The Australian, Australian Financial Review (AFR), The Daily Telegraph, Sun Herald [Sydney], Sunday Age, and The Sydney Morning Herald (SMH).
Gale Primary Sources
Cross-searchable access to subscribed content in Gale archives: Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Parts 1 to 4; Women's Studies Archive Parts 1 and 2; Archives Unbound [Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970; The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015; The Middle East, Series II: Iraq, 1914-1974]; Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); British Library Newspapers; The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003; 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection; The Times Digital Archive; and The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)