Skip to Main Content
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. Multidisciplinary database across subjects areas, covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, science, technology, social sciences and more. Choose to search individual databases or search all at once.
APAFT - Australian Public Affairs - Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Full text articles: 1995 - Present; Index: 1978 - Present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Indexes of journals in humanities, arts, social sciences, education, medicine, and health, and access to books via the University Press Content Consortium (UPCC).
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
Adam Matthew, Defining Gender, examines constructions of femininity and masculinity through "five centuries of advice literature" from the medieval period through the nineteenth century, and includes image content.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I & II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world.
Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window
Adam Matthew Mass Observation online, access archives for the study of social history in the modern era: from the end of the 'Hungry Thirties' to the onset of the Second World War; the Blitz; and the post-War world of consumerism and television. Includes Parts I, II, III and IV.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)