Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health
Multilingual database of health evidence, including broad synthesis, systematic reviews, structured summaries and primary studies. A unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions.
Search for quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions
Health Systems Evidence
Health Systems Evidence is a continuously updated repository of syntheses of research evidence about governance, financial and delivery arrangements within health systems. Access to full-text is free when available. Types of syntheses include evidence briefs for policy, overviews of systematic reviews, systematic reviews, systematic reviews in progress.
NICE: National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
NICE provides evidence-based guidance and advice for health, public health and social care practitioners. Search for evidence on public health related subjects including health promotion and health planning. Includes guidelines, evidence summaries and systematic reviews.
Quick access to the best evidence for informing decisions about health systems. It includes systematic reviews, broad syntheses of reviews (including evidence-based policy briefs), primary studies included in systematic reviews and structured summaries of evidence.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant Australian links and may act as a starting point.
APO: Analysis and Policy Observatory
APO is an open access evidence platform for public policy and practice. Search, browse and download resources on health and digital health systems to improve and transform healthcare. Excellent source for grey literature sources: reports, policy papers, discussion papers and working papers. Search using keywords and filter by type of publication type
Australian Health Promotion Association (AHPA®)
Provides leadership, advocacy and support for health promotion action in practice, research, evaluation and policy
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Searchable database of evidence to inform practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Valuable statistics and data for government, researchers and policy makers to support better policy and service delivery decisions.
NSW Health Statistics and Data
NSW population health statistics and data. HealthStats NSW is an interactive, web-based application that allows users to freely access data and tailor reports about the health of the New South Wales population.
Public Health Association of Australia (PHAA)
Recognised as the principal non-government organisation for public health in Australia that works to promote the health and well-being of all Australians. The Association promotes better population health outcomes based on prevention, the social determinants of health and equity principles.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant international web links and may act as a starting point.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)