General Resources
Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews Online publishes full text critical reviews of primary research literature in 29 physical, biomedical and social sciences disciplines.
Trove: Australian Newspapers
Digitised historic and modern newspapers accessible online, as well as newspapers in microform and paper formats. Collections include major regional city newspapers, Australian capital city dailies, and foreign language Australian newspapers.
Mapping Tools
In addition to the subject related resources listed within the e-Resources section of the library webpage, the following online tools may prove useful for researchers. This page contains a selection of available resources and should be considered a guide rather than an exhaustive list.
- Carto DBCartoDB is cloud-based geospatial and mapping software that allows users to work with geospatial data online. CartoDB has a free account as well as paid premium accounts.
- GephiGephi is a powerful data visualization tool that is popular in the Digital Humanities because of its ability to take spreadsheets and create network analysis nodes out of lists and databases. This is a great tool to get started with for network analysis.
- D3.jsD3.js is a JavaScript library that allows one to create powerful visualizations on websites. Essentially, it is a library of scripts and functions that one can draw on to visualize data in a variety of ways. One of its key contributions to Digital Humanities is the ability to create dynamic Digital Humanities projects online.
- VoyantVoyant is one of the most popular text analysis suites used in Digital Humanities. It allows users to upload texts and see word counts, co-occurrences, keyword frequency, collocations, relationship between words, and more. Voyant also allows users to create a variety of powerful visualizations.
- MALLETMALLET is a popular toolkit used in Digital Humanities for Topic Modeling. Mallet can identify topics that are contained in texts and perform analysis such as relationships between topics and frequency of their occurrence.
- Google Books Ngram ViewerGoogle Books Ngram Viewer allows one to analyse the frequency of keyword occurrence found in the Google books corpus.
- OmekaOmeka is a web publishing platform mostly used for creating digital exhibits, libraries, archives, and collections. Digital Humanists use Omeka to publish their digital collections and projects.
- DrupalDrupal is a content management system that allows users to create and host dynamic websites that can display a variety of content. Digital Humanists often use Drupal for their projects because it provides a comprehensive solution for managing texts, metadata, visualizations, interactive maps, and more.
- TEITEI is an XML markup languages that allows scholars to mark up text in order to curate and annotate texts digitally and make them machine readable.
- OpenImagesOpenImages provides access to audiovisual archive material.
National Library of Australia
Libraries Australia
Libraries Australia acts as a single gateway to a number of Australian and international databases. These databases can be searched simultaneously, enabling the user to identify resources published in almost any country in the world. It also provides access to online content of Australian journals.
Repositories
Trove: Australian Research Online
Trove is an online search engine developed by the National Library of Australia. Search the Research and Reports category to find a wide range of publications from Australia's academic and research communities, including Australian and international theses held in Australian libraries. Results link to theses held in Australian university repositories. Full-text may be available, based on the author granting permission.
OpenDOAR - Home Page - Directory of Open Access Repositories
Contains data from university repositories and open access journal collections such as PubMed Central.
Research Communities
COS Scholar Universe
COS Scholar Universe provides authoritative information about more than 1 million scholars and organizations around the world, together with verified affiliation and publication information. The database comprises international faculty at 4-year universities and their departments. Community of Scholars is a unique tool for finding researchers by specific area of study, providing keyword access to the community behind the content.
COS Papers Invited
The database consists of detailed information and deadlines about calls for papers for forthcoming conferences and special issues of scholarly journals. These calls for papers are issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines and from all over the world. Thus, the database serves as an alerting service for researchers, scholars and students that are seeking opportunities to present and publish their research.
Research Tools
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library includes books, reference works, journal articles, cases, datasets and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
- SAGE CASES
- SAGE DATASETS
- SAGE VIDEO - SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content alongside SAGE Video. Content includes reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more.
- SAGE Knowledge Video
- SAGE Video: Business and Management
- SAGE Video: Counseling and Psychotherapy
- SAGE Video: Criminology & Criminal Justice
- SAGE Video: Education
- SAGE Video: Leadership
- SAGE Video: Media, Communication and Cultural Studies
- SAGE Video: Politics and International Relations
- SAGE Video: Psychology
- SAGE Video: Social Work
- SAGE Video: Sociology
Reference
OED: Oxford English Dictionary
Contains the meaning, history and pronunciation of words from across the English-speaking world.
Theses Discovery Tools
The Theses component of Research Resources on the Library web page contains a comprehensive selection of theses discovery tools.
Websites (scholarly)
Google Scholar
Change your settings to show links to full-text articles when off campus.