Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library provides digitized back issues of academic journals, ebooks and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Indexes of journals in humanities, arts, social sciences, education, medicine, and health, and access to books via the University Press Content Consortium (UPCC).
Arts and Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Includes titles relevant to the arts, humanities, applied arts and cultural studies.
Cambridge Companions via Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions Collection via Cambridge Core provides access to the content areas of literature, classic studies, philosophy, religion, culture and music. Written by leading experts, Cambridge Companions offers lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Contains images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, history of printing and publishing, listings on rhetoric and composition, and history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Cross searchable access to Oxford Quick Reference and Oxford Reference Library.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Academic Scholarship Online includes, business and management, linguistics, psychology, economics and finance, neuroscience, law, history, public health and epidemiology, and social work.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)