Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
For more books on Entrepreneurship click here
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web.
Innovation and Entrepreneurship is across a variety of disciplines and resources will be accessed from many different subject pages and databases. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Includes engineering books, instructional, faculty made videos, Excel spreadsheet calculator tools, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalisation tools to help organise crucial project information. Includes Data Visualisation tools
-For help getting started with DataVis, watch video tutorial
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Includes access to MarketLine (Company Profiles and Industry Profiles covering automotive, consumer, energy, financial services, healthcare and technology sectors), and images/business videos under the More > dropdown list. See also Enhanced Business Searching Interface
. Coverage: 1886 - Present.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Gives access to a wide range of information from news sources, industry publications, websites, company reports, and provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events. Note: Includes full-text access to The Australian, The Australian Financial Review [from 1 Jan. 2020, content from the AFR (digital and print) will be available to Factiva users 72 hours after its original publication date], The Age [Melbourne], Sunday Age, Sun Herald [Sydney], The Daily Telegraph, and The Sydney Morning Herald (SMH).
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. Multidisciplinary database across subjects areas, covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, science, technology, social sciences and more. Choose to search individual databases or search all at once.
Australian Interactive Innovation Map
This tool can help you unlock innovation and entrepreneurship trends in your region.The map identifies the location of innovation activities (R&D expenditure, patent and trademark application counts) and business creation (new businesses) across Australia over time. It illustrates that business creation and innovation is influenced by proximity to other innovative activity including that of research organisations.
Australian Geography of Innovative Entrepreneurship
This updated paper explores the patterns of innovative entrepreneurship in Australia, showing the distribution and concentration of business creation, research and development (R&D), patenting and trademark activity across various regions of Australia.
Australian Innovation System Report
The annual Australian Innovation System Report explores the impact of innovation and related activities on business, industry and national performance. The report also outlines challenges and future opportunities for Australian innovation.
You can find additional government resources and internet links on entrepreneurship under the internet links tab
Businesses in Australia, 2018-19, TableBuilder
Created from the Business Longitudinal Analysis Data Environment (BLADE) an ABS microdata product combining tax data from businesses with information from ABS surveys and other government sources. It provides a comprehensive research base on Australian businesses and the economy and enables research on business performance, innovation, dynamics & productivity over time.
The REDI Business team connects business, government and the community with Western Sydney University by establishing external linkages and identifying partnership opportunities for commercial research, professional consultancy, commercialisation opportunities, access to intellectual property and expertise, and to the University's cutting-edge research facilities.
Launch Pad, a network of business
and innovation support centres (Smart Business
Centres) across Western Sydney’s key growth areas. Launch Pad provides an end-to-end innovation experience developing a proentrepreneurship culture, delivering entrepreneurship education, and driving greater collaboration between entrepreneurs delivering specialised mentoring to help Start-Ups develop and scale into global businesses.
Critical Thinking - Tools for Success
This video demonstrates how to improve your critical thinking skills and interviews Darcy Street Project CEO to show how critical thinking works for innovation and social entrepreneurship
Other Relevant Subject Guides
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)