Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Readings and Resources: Students

How to access Reading Lists

Reading Lists can be accessed from your vUWS site at the unit level via the 'Reading and Resource' menu option, or library search box by performing a unit number search. Once you select the relevant reading list, you will be directed to a list of readings for the unit.

Many items will be ebooks which can be accessed a variety of ways. To utilise the best functionality of ebooks, please review the guide.

Similarly, some items are only accessible from the library and are referred to as Reserve Items.

Note: Reading Lists requires that the user's browser be set to accept third-party cookies. If the browser is not set up to accept these cookies, then a white screen with an 'Illegal institution' message appears.

This setting is in different places in different web browsers but will generally appear under Options / Settings > Privacy. Make sure to set 'Accept third-party cookies' to 'Always'.

Building your personal collection

Your collection can be a starting point to gather together material you may wish to use to build your reading list/s.

Adding items to My Collection using Library Search

  • Select My Collection from the options in the left hand navigation panel
  • Click on the + ADD ITEM button on the right hand side
  • Use the search options to find relevant items and add them to your collection

Adding items to My Collection manually

  • Select My Collection from the options in the left hand navigation panel
  • Click on the + ADD ITEM button on the right hand side
  • Click on the blue link Add item manually/Upload file
  • Select the appropriate Type for your item from the pull-down menu
  • Fill in all relevant fields, using the More Details option as required
  • Click on Collect
  • You can also upload a file, such as a PDF or Word document
  • Click on Drag files here to upload them Or click to browse for a file
  • Be aware of copyright restrictions on material you choose to upload. Contact Library Services if you have any questions.

Adding items using ‘Cite it!’

Cite it! is a tool that pulls across core information about an item from a wide range of academic and popular websites e.g. Amazon, Library Search, ScienceDirect.

  • Click on your name on the top right of the screen and select Leganto Cite it!
  • Drag and drop the Cite it! button to your browser toolbar
  • Find a relevant item on your chosen website and click on the Cite it! button in your browser toolbar
  • Add this to my collection popup appears containing the details of the item
  • Select the appropriate Type for your item from the drop down menu, click the Collect button

Contact Us

Profile Photo
ic @westernsydney.edu.au

Phone   Email Us   FAQs


Find answers to common problems with logging into library databases here.

© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)