Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Systematic Reviews: Managing your search results

Managing your literature using EndNote

Systematic reviews require some kind of  analysis or summation of all the information resources located during searching. Reference management software can make the organization of information resources for this task and later for citation more effective and efficient. EndNote is a reference management software available to all Western Sydney staff and post graduate students to download form the library webpage. Use EndNote to maintain a searchable database of references related to the systematic review. EndNote information is available in the Western Sydney University Library EndNote Subject Guide.

Managing systematic review search results using EndNote

Exporting citations from databases

The Ebscohost database can export up to 25,000 records to EndNote at one time.

The Ovid database can export up to 1000 records at one time.

Smaller numbers of records can also be exported. 

Documenting the search

Documenting the date of your search and the source database of your results is essential in Systematic Reviews. You can make global changes to bulk imported citations at one time to record this data by using Change/Move/Copy fields.

Creating group sets and group

Group sets and groups help you to organise your library into more manageable subsets.

Deduplication

Removing duplicates is an integral part of the PRISMA 2009 Flow Diagram. Use EndNote to remove duplicates from your records. 

Sharing a library

Sharing an EndNote Library with a colleague or Supervisor is easy. The Little EndNote How-to Book (p.96) can show you how.

Training in EndNote is available on a regular basis. See the library Training and Support webpage for upcoming training opportunities.

For technical enquiries, please contact EndNote Support Clarivate Analytics: ts.support.anz@clarivate.com.

Profile Photo
ic @westernsydney.edu.au

Phone   Email Us   FAQs


Find answers to common problems with logging into library databases here.

Documenting your work

Authors  must document search information. Search strategies should be detailed enough to be reproducible. Publishers may request a copy of your search strategy with publication.

Document:

  • lists of databases searched and vendor
  • number of references retrieved
  • exact search strategies
  • grey literature sources searched
  • other search techniques – hand searching, scanning bibliographies of pertinent authors, contacting experts

Other bibliographic software

Mendeley: A free scholarly references management and discovery service, as well as an academic social network.

Zotero: A free scholarly references management and discovery service.

© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)