Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page.
Brill Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers the humanities and Social Science, international law and selected area in the Sciences.
Cairo Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Cairo Scholarship Online makes available the full text of over 50 books in Middle East Studies in three subject areas: Religion; Political and Science; and Society and Culture.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Covers almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited includes works about other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.
ISEAS (Institute of Southeast Asian Studies) This link opens in a new window
Includes ebooks from the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS), a regional research centre dedicated to the study of socio-political, security and economic trends and developments in Southeast Asia and its wider geostrategic and economic environment.
Includes over 190 titles - an excellent source of religious news and information. The database provides details on doctrines and philosophies, reports on religious history, and related archaeology. It also covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. Primary faiths represented in the database are Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism. Coverage: Indexing from 1986 -; Full text 1992 - current.
Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Includes cross-searchable access to Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)