Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant Australian links and may act as a starting point.
Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute (AMSI)
AMSI is a collaborative venture of Australian universities, professional societies and government agencies that seeks to integrate research, education and industry involvement to deliver mathematical and statistical capability and drive national innovation.
Australian Mathematical Society (AustMS)
AustMS is the national society of the mathematics profession in Australia. The Society represents all professional mathematicians in Australia, both pure and applied.
Statistical Society of Australia (SSA)
SSA is a national “umbrella” organisation which supports the work of state statistical societies already in existence, to establish a national journal and newsletter and to host national conferences.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant international web links and may act as a starting point.
Alphabetical List of Mathematical Societies and Academies
Extensive list of Mathematical Societies around the world.
American Institute of Mathematics
A professional society which aims to advance mathematical knowledge, broaden participation, and increase the awareness of the contributions of the mathematical sciences to society. The Open Textbook Initiative
rigorously reviews open source mathematics textbooks and maintains a list of approved textbooks which have been judged as suitable for use in university courses.
American Mathematical Society (AMS)
A professional society which aims to advance research and connect the global mathematical community through publications, meetings and conferences, MathSciNet, professional services, advocacy, and awareness programs.
LaTeX is a high-quality typesetting system; it includes features designed for the production of technical and scientific documentation. LaTeX is the de facto standard for the communication and publication of scientific documents. LaTeX is available as free software.
London Mathematical Society (LMS)
The Society provides grants to support mathematics, especially conferences and joint research activities linking groups at different Universities. It also a major academic publisher in a range of mathematical subject areas.
Project Euclid's mission is to advance scholarly communication in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. Includes full-text searching, reference linking, interoperability through the Open Archives Initiative, and long-term retention of data. Jointly managed by the Cornell Library and Duke University Press.
U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI)
OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results. It contains over 70 years of research results across a number of subject areas, including mathematics and computing.
An extensive free mathematical resource committed to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
zbMATH, formerly Zentralblatt MATH, is an abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. The zbMATH database contains access to bibliographic data, reviews and abstracts from all areas of pure mathematics.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)