Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant Australian links and may act as a starting point.
Australian Dictionary of Biography
Australia's pre-eminent dictionary of national biography. Over 10,000 scholarly biographies of persons who were significant in Australian history
Australian Heritage Database
Contains information about more than 20,000 natural, historic and Indigenous places
Australian Insitute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)
This is an independent Commonwealth Government statutory authority devoted to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies. It is Australia's premier institution for information about the cultures and lifestyles of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
Department of the Parliamentary Library Gateway
Access to Hansard, bills, biographical information, research papers and other material relating to the Australian Parliament
First Legislative Council Archive
This archive contains documents from 1824 to 1855. It includes tabled papers, Sydney Morning Herald newspaper reports of debates, and documents relating to the administration of the First Council.
National Archives of Australia
This archive collects and preserves Australian Government records that have been identified as having national significance.
Online search engine developed by the National Library of Australia. It includes content from libraries, museums, archives, repositories, and research organisations.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant international web links and may act as a starting point.
British National Archives
Contains historical documents, known as records, which were created and collected by UK central government departments and major courts of law. Including records from the Home Office, the Foreign Office and the Central Criminal Court
British Newspaper Archives
British Library's collection of historical newspapers
containing newspapers from 1603 to the present day, from both Britain and further afield.
Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.
Marxists Internet Archive
Writings of 592 authors representing a complete spectrum of political, philosophical, and scientific thought, covering past 200 years translated in 45 different languages.
Old Bailey Online
Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913 containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court
Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present
A landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. Topics covered include: peace, international governance, and international law; political and human rights; social reform and political activism; women and development; women and education; women and immigration; women and religion; women and sexuality, birth control, and health; women of color; women, colonization, and empire; and work and class identity. Coverage: 1840 - Present.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)