Contact Us
Australian Sites
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant Australian links and may act as a starting point.
- ABC Health & Wellbeingthe Australian Broadcasting Corporation's award-winning online health gateway. Provides comprehensive evidence-based feature articles, fact files and consumer guides. The site has an emphasis on healthy living.
- Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care: Clinical Care StandardsClinical Care Standards are developed by the Commission to address high priority areas for quality improvement based on evidence of unwarranted variation.
- Australian Indigenous Health InfoNetAims to contribute to 'closing the gap' in health between Indigenous and other Australians by informing practice and policy in Indigenous health by way of making research and other knowledge readily accessible.
- Australian Institute of Health & WelfareThis is a national agency for health and welfare statistics and information. It is an Australian Government statutory authority accountable to Parliament. It's aim is to provide statistical information that governments and the community can use to promote discussion and make decisions on health, housing and community services.
- The Australian Resuscitation Council GuidelinesThe ANZCOR (Australian and New Zealand Committee on Resuscitation) guidelines provide those involved in resuscitation education and practice with recommendations based on scientific evidence. Please note: Guidelines may be modified at any time and are only current from the day of printing.
- Better Health ChannelThe site aims to provide free health and medical information in an easy to understand format and language. A product of the Victorian governement, the site is updated and revised regularly.
- Doctors Reform Society of AustraliaThe DRS is an organisation of doctors and medical students supporting health care reforms
to ensure justice, equity and quality care for all regardless of social or economic status. - Emergency Care InstituteWe support staff involved in the delivery of emergency care, to research, plan and deliver better outcomes for patients.
- HealthInsiteHEALTHINSITE is the Australian Government's internet gateway that provides people with easy access to reliable, high quality information about health and wellbeing.
- Health Resource DirectoryA health information portal for South Western Sydney .
- Lowitja InstituteWe are Australia’s only Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community controlled health research institute, named in honour of our namesake and co-patron, the late Dr Lowitja O’Donoghue AC CBE DSG.. We deliver high-impact quality research, knowledge exchange, and by supporting a new generation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health researchers.
- National Health and Medical Research CouncilAustralia's peak body for supporting health and medical research; for developing health advice for the Australian community, health professionals and governments; and for providing advice on ethical behaviour in health care and in the conduct of health and medical research.
- National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) .Guidlines.To support the development of the highest quality guidelines, NHMRC also provides:
Standards for Guidelines which apply to all guidelines containing recommendations for clinical practice, public health and environmental health. - New South Wales Department of HealthIncludes full text publications, hospital statistics, information for GPs and Health professionals, Health Services Directory, consumer health information
- NPS MedicineWiseNPS MedicineWise is committed to supporting quality use of medicines to improve health decisions and health and economic outcomes in Australia.
As of 1 January 2023, the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (the Commission) is now responsible for several Quality Use of Medicines functions that were formerly delivered by NPS MedicineWise. - NSW Department of Health, HealthPathwaysCommunity HealthPathways (CHP) is a web-based portal providing clinical management information (pathways) for use by Primary Care providers during patient consultations.
- NSW Department of Health, Policy and procedure manualsThe policy and procedure manuals are updated continually to incorporate the latest policies issued by the Ministry.
International Sites
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant international web links and may act as a starting point.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other U.S. government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news
- National Guidelines ClearinghouseThe National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents, an initiative of U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- World Health OrganizationThe World Health Organization is the United Nations specialized agency for health. WHO's objective is the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health.
- Pediatric Care OnlineHome page of the American Academy of Pediatrics
Assessment
Assessment
Coombes, L., Roberts, M., Zahra, D., & Burr, S. (2016). Twelve tips for assessment psychometrics. Medical Teacher, 38(3), 250-254. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.3109/0142159X.2015.1060306
Cohen-Schotanus, J., & van der Vleuten, C. P. (2010). A standard setting method with the best performing students as point of reference: practical and affordable. Medical Teacher, 32(2), 154-160. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.3109/01421590903196979
Campbell, D. E. (2011). How to write good multiple-choice questions. Journal of Paediatrics and Child Health, 47(6), 322-325. doi:10.1111/j.1440-1754.2011.02115.x
Bannard-Smith, J., Bishop, S., Gawne, S., & Halder, N. (2012). Twelve tips for junior doctors interested in a career in medical education. Medical teacher, 34(12), 1012-1016.
Database Search suggesions
|
Pubmed (MESH) |
ERIC |
Cinahl |
|
General |
General |
General |
|
Education, Medical |
Medical Education# |
(MM Education, Medica OR AB Medical education)# |
|
Education, Medical, undergraduate |
Student Centered Learning |
|
|
Teaching/mt [Methods] |
Curriculum development |
|
|
|
Instruction |
|
|
Educational Evaluation |
Educational Evaluation |
Educational Evaluation |
|
Program evaluation |
Educational Quality |
Educational measurement |
|
Educational Measurement |
Competency based education |
Student performance appraisal |
|
Surveys and Questionnaires |
Formative/Summative evaluation |
MM “Evaluaton” OR AB evaluat* |
|
|
Evaluation Methods |
|
|
Assessment |
Assessment |
Assessment |
|
Education, Medical / st [Standards] |
Student evaluation |
MM Competency assessment |
|
Educational Measurement / st [Standards] |
Evaluation methods |
Educational measurement |
|
Education, Medical / mt [Methods] |
Educational assessment |
AB Assessment |
|
Competency-Based Education / st [Standards] |
Competency based education |
|
#Medical education – combine with any of the other headings
e.g. “Medical education” AND “student centered learning”