Skip to Main Content
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant Australian links and may act as a starting point.
Australia's Health 2012
'Australia's health 2012' is the thirteenth biennial health report of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. It is the most comprehensive and authoritative source of national information on health in Australia. It provides answers to questions such as: - How healthy are Australians? - What major milestones affect health over the life course? - How can we protect and promote good health? - What are the major causes of illness? - How do we treat people who are sick? - Where do our health dollars come from and where do they go? - Who works in health? - What is being done to find out more about our health?
Exercise and Sport Science Australia (ESSA)
Contains information about the ESSA organisation, such as the executive, membership, contacts and the history and functions of the organisation.
Australian Council for Health, Physical Education & Recreation
This professional association supports and represents people who work in the fields of Health, Education, Physical Education, Recreation, Sport, Dance, Community Fitness or Movement Sciences. The ACHPER site includes links to conferences, affiliations, activities, resources and periodicals.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)
The AIHW providea information and statistics in various subject areas of health and welfare
Australian Institute of Sport (AIS)
This site provides information about the AIS such as an AIS overview, the Athlete Career and Education program, sports at the AIS, facilities and tour times.
Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority
A directory of information about drugs in sport including trends in drug testing, publications and resources, media releases and briefings and the Australian Sports Drug Medical Advisory Committee. A list of related sites is also provided.
Australian Sports Commission
Entitled the "Australian sport WWW"; this page links to the Australian Institute of Sport and the Australian Sports Commission, and offers information on sports and athletes, topics in sport, international sport and the organisation of sport in Australia. The site also includes links to sports directories, sporting organisations, government sporting policies, sporting calendars and major sporting events.
NSW Department. of Sport & Recreation
The NSW Department of Sport and Recreation website contains extensive information about the services and publications provided by the Department. These include Sports Administration, the Sports Management Advisory Service, the Active Australia program, the Sydney Academy of Sport, Swimsafe and a directory of other related organisations.
As "The voice of NSW sport", the NSW Sports Federation aims to raise and respond to issues that relate to sport. The Federation website mainly offers organisational information, such as membership information, organisational structure, the Federation's supporters, and organisational activities.
Sports Medicine Australia (SMA)
Provides information about SMA community services, training tips, sports trainers programs, and SMA membership.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant international web links and may act as a starting point.
American College of Sports Medicine
ASCM is the largest sports medicine and exercise science organization in the world. This site includes ACSM’s Health and Physical Activity Reference Database.
F1000 Posters, an open access poster repository, provides a permanent, structured environment for the deposition of conference posters as well as a trustworthy venue for ongoing discussion and development of the information being presented.
SIRC - Sport Information Resource Centre
SIRC is the leading bibliographic database producer in the field of sport, fitness and sport medicine. As well as product information, this site provides a sports directory, associations directory, statistics directory and general sports links.
Sport Science Research Page
A peer reviewed ejournal on sport research, including information and links on sports nutrition, sports medicine, statistics, sports images, universities and technology.
Virtual Sports Injury Clinic
This site contains information on over 350 sports injuries with rehabilitation, stretching, strengthening exercises and more.
World Federation of the Sporting Goods Industry (WFSGI)
The WFSGI site contains extensive information about the organisation such as its history, administration, committees and membership, as well as relevant publications, activities and industry links.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)