Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant Australian links and may act as a starting point.
ABS National Health Survey: First Results 2017-18
The 2017-18 National Health Survey is the most recent in a series of Australia-wide health surveys conducted by the Australian Bureau of Statistics. The survey was designed to collect a range of information about the health of Australians.
Australian Food and Grocery Council
This site is maintained by the Australian Food and Grocery Council (AFC), the principal representative body for the Australian processed food and beverage industry. It provides an overview of the industry, with links to member organisations and affiliates, related Australian and overseas government and commercial authorities, AFC publications, fact sheets, submissions and speeches.
Australian Food News
This site is created and maintained by Baldwins, Australian Lawyers and Consultants, who aim to make it an invaluable resource for food industry professionals and dynamic food companies. Includes links to Food Industry Organisations and Companies, food law and policy in Australia, industry standards, food technology and pharmaceuticals, food preparation and handling, and a current awareness service.
The Conversation - Food and Nutrition
The Conversation publishes articles written by academics and researchers on current affairs and issues.
Food Safety Information Council
Food Safety Information Council The FSIC has membership from government, industry and professional bodies. Its purpose is to coordinate the reduction of incidents of food poisoning in Australia. The site contains information on issues associated with food poisoning, and links to Australian and overseas organisations with a role in food safety.
Food Standards Australia New Zealand
Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) develops standards that regulate the use of ingredients, processing aids, colourings, additives, vitamins and minerals. The Code also covers the composition of some foods, e.g. dairy, meat and beverages as well as standards developed by new technologies such as genetically modified foods.
Easy access to free trusted, quality health information including nutrition.
Health Star Rating
The Health Star Rating is a front-of-pack labelling system that rates the overall nutritional profile of packaged food and assigns it a rating from ½ a star to 5 stars. It provides a quick, easy, standard way to compare similar packaged foods.
NSW Healthy Food Basket Study
Cancer Council of NSW study on the cost and standard of basket of healthy food across NSW, with a specific focus on the cost, availability and quality of fruit and vegetables.
Provides access to information sources relevant to diet, exercise and nutrition for Australians, including links to the Dietary Guidelines, information about diet linked diseases, and glycaemic index resources.
Water Quality Australia
Provides information and links to resources related to water quality and associated health issues in Australia. Includes the Australian Drinking Water Guidelines.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant international web links and may act as a starting point.
BRENDA: the comprehensive Enzyme Information System
Online version of the Springer Handbook of Enzymes, which provides a concise and complete description of more than 3,700 enzymes for application in analytical, synthetic and biotechnology processes, and the food industry. It is currently available free of charge to academic institutions. Personal registration may be required for Off Campus use.
Campden BRI is the UK's largest independent membership-based organisation carrying out research and development for the food and drinks industry worldwide. This site provides information about the research, services, training opportunities and publications of the Association. It also includes links to UK food legislation and selected international links to organisations in the food industry, including selected UK and European Union links.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
Information service about FAO activities, such as food resources and provision, sustainable development, partnerships programmes and technical co-operation, and links to the Codex Alimentarius sites. Includes statistical databases, conference notes and photo archives.
Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA)
Provides links to all recent resources from JECFA (the Joint FAO/WHO Committee on Food Additives). Includes searchable links to the WHO food additives series, veterinary drug residues in foods, WHO technical reports, and the Compendium of Food Additive Specifications, Codex Alimentarius, summaries and conclusions of meetings, and other human nutrition and food safety issues.
JECFA Monographs & Evaluations
Toxicological evaluations of food additives and contaminants and of residues of veterinary drugs in food, produced by the Joint WHO/FAO Expert Committee on Food Additives accessible via the International Programme on Chemical Safety INCHEM site.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)