Skip to Main Content
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
A full-text database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
CAB Abstracts via Ovid. This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts coverage of the applied life sciences includes agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science, and nutrition, from 1973 - current.
CAB Direct via CABI This link opens in a new window
Includes access to CAB Abstracts, CABI Full Text, and the journal Description of Fungi and Bacteria (DFB). CAB Direct contains over 11 million bibliographic records, full-text articles, news items and reports across the applied life sciences.
CSIRO This link opens in a new window
The CSIRO publishes journals presenting the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists and covering a broad range of subjects.
Plant Science This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science. Coverage: 1994 - Present.
Agricultural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains agricultural science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA. AGRICOLA is the definitive bibliographic database to agricultural science literature. Coverage: 1970 - Current.
How does Hot Articles work?
Hot Articles is a mini window that goes on a web page and shows popular articles in broad subject areas (as defined by ExLibris). In each subject area, bX Hot Articles displays a list of up to ten articles and is based on selections made by millions of researchers from thousands of academic institutions around the world. Note: This list is updated once a month.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)