Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant Australian links and may act as a starting point.
Art & Design Education Resource Guide
The DG Design Network is a resource for creative professionals covering the complete range of creative disciplines; and the publisher of the annual Art & Design Education Resource Guide. Website includes a list of professional associations, industry organisations and resources.
Building Designers Association of Australia (BDAA)
BDAA is the single national association that represents, advocates for, promotes and connects building designers throughout Australia.
Design Institute of Australia (DIA)
An institute recognised as a dynamic body representing designers in Australia and promoting the highest ethical and professional standards through education, information and event management.
Human Factors and Ergonomics Society of Australia (HFESA)
Contains useful, interesting information about ergonomics, safety and injury prevention including resources for various ergonomics and safety projects and needs. Links to hundreds of helpful ergonomics sites, world-wide.
This website is endorsed by the Australian Institute of Architects and the Design Institute of Australia. Use Selector's search box to access photographs, technical data, colours, textures and more for thousands of building products.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant international web links and may act as a starting point.
The Centre for Sustainable Design
CfSD facilitates discussion and research on eco-design and environmental, economic, ethical and social (e3s) considerations in product and service development and design. This is achieved through training and education, research, seminars, workshops, conferences, consultancy, publications and Internet. The Centre also acts as an information clearing house and a focus for innovative thinking on sustainable products and services.
The Core77 Army
Core77.com publishes articles, discussion forums, an extensive event calendar, hosts portfolios, job listings, a database of design firms, schools, vendors and services. It provides a gathering point for designers and enthusiasts alike by producing design competitions, lecture series, parties, and exhibits.
Design Engine is composed of designers and programmers who are interested in design. With affiliates around the world, it offers branding and graphic design consultancy and product design consultancy. It is a resource for industrial designers to write and publish their ideas.
Online portal for architects, illustrators, engineers, artists, and creatives of all kinds. Includes comprehensive database of organisations, resources and news.
Contemporary furniture design and sustainable manufacturing in North America and beyond.
Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA)
IDSA is a professional organisation which seeks to advance the quality and positive impact of design and represent the profession to business, government, education, the media and the general public. It publishes Innovation, the professional journal of industrial design practice and education in America and conducts the annual Industrial Design Excellence Awards (IDEA).
International Council of Societies of Industrial Design (ICSID) Archive
The International Council of Societies of Industrial Design was founded in London in 1957 with the aim of promoting the status of industrial designers, raising the standard of industrial design through training and education, and encouraging cooperation between industrial designers around the world. The archive covers the full range of the council's activities, and includes administrative files, printed material, publications and photographs.
International Ergomonics Association
Contains professional standards and other documents relating to the education and certification of professional ergonomists; conferencing proceedings, reports and a list of IEA endorsed journals.
o2 Global Network for Sustainable Design
An informal network on sustainable design.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)