Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
A+ Education This link opens in a new window
Encompasses early childhood to tertiary and adult learning. Full text articles: 2000 - Present; Index: 1978 - Present.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
* Available until 31 December 2020
*. See also: ERIC (ProQuest)
This EBSCOhost collection provides access to education literature and resources, and information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Coverage: 1966 - Present.
Linguistics Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Coverage: 1973 - Present.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, history of printing and publishing, listings on rhetoric and composition, and history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)