Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
APAFT - Australian Public Affairs - Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Full text articles: 1995 - Present; Index: 1978 - Present.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals) plus unique full-text content. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals. Topics covered include all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Informit databases This link opens in a new window
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere. Includes country information and statistics, people and institutions; and policy and analysis. Relevant to medicine, law, computing, engineering, mathematics, nursing, business, and science. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to leading political science and international relations journals indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, on topics such as political science, international relations, comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, human rights, and migration. Coverage: 1985 - Present.
How does Hot Articles work?
Hot Articles is a mini window that goes on a web page and shows popular articles in broad subject areas (as defined by ExLibris). In each subject area, bX Hot Articles displays a list of up to ten articles and is based on selections made by millions of researchers from thousands of academic institutions around the world. Note: This list is updated once a month.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)