Skip to Main Content
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant Australian links and may act as a starting point.
Australasian Lighting Industry Association, for people who share an interest in the art, science and technology of light.
AusStage is an online resource providing information about live performances in Australia.
Australia Council for the Arts
A national organisation supporting and promoting the arts, whose site has much information on relevant activities and issues.
Australian Dance Council (Ausdance)
Access to research, events and publications of Australia's professional dance organization.
Australian Music Association
The Australian Music Association (AMA) represents and furthers the interests of the Music Products industry which is a network of wholesalers, manufacturers, retailers and associated services for musical instruments, print music, consumer pro audio & lighting and music technology. The AMA also works with a network of government and non-government organisations to advocate for music education and promote music making. It organises trade shows, conventions and forums, publishes Australian Musician magazine online, develops industry statistics and provides commercial member benefits.
Australian Music Centre
The Australian Music Centre (AMC) is the national service organisation dedicated to the promotion and support of both the artform of music and the creators and performers of contemporary classical, improvised jazz, experimental music and sound art in Australia.
Australian Music Therapy Association
The Australian Music Therapy Association is the sole Australian organisation for the profession of music therapy.
Australian Society for Music Education
The purpose of ASME is to encourage and advance music education at all levels as an integral part of general education and community life, and as a profession within the broad field of music.
Music Australia was established in 1994 to provide a unified voice in Australia for all forms of music. Over twenty years the organisation has brought people together from across the music sector to advance musical life in Australia.
Sydney Dance Company
Homepage of the Sydney dance company.
Trove: Music Sound and Video
Australian music works and a significant number of music related resources can be found in this Zone, including many of the resources from the retired Music Australia discovery service.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant international web links and may act as a starting point.
AllMusic is a place to explore and discover more about your favorite albums, musicians, bands and musical styles. Includes in-depth information and reviews, ratings and sound samples and streaming links to hear it all.
Centre for Performance Research
An eminent United Kingdom research centre. Access to online journal, Internet links and other activities
Choral Domain Public Library
The Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL) is a sheet music archive which focuses on choral and vocal music in the public domain or otherwise freely available for printing and performing (such as via permission from the copyright holder).
Discogs, short for discographies, is a website and crowdsourced database of information about audio recordings, including commercial releases, promotional releases, and bootleg or off-label releases.
Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives is a website which lists bands from various forms of heavy metal music. Provides information on each band, such as a discography, logos, pictures, lyrics, line-ups, biography, trivia and user-submitted reviews.
International Computer Music Association
The International Computer Music Association is an international affiliation of individuals and institutions involved in the technical, creative, and performance aspects of computer music. It serves composers, computer software and hardware developers, researchers, and musicians who are interested in the integration of music and technology.
International Music Score Library Project
Also known as the Petrucci Music Library is an online collection of public domain music scores.
Internet theatre database
A searchable archive of theatre past, present, and trends for the future. Currently archives Broadway shows and London's West End.
MusicBrainz captures information about artists, their recorded works, and the relationships between them.
The Mutopia Project is a volunteer-run effort to create a library of free content sheet music.
An online music database dedicated to drum and bass and its various stylistic origins.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)