Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant Australian links and may act as a starting point.
Australian Book Designers Association
ABDA exists to support Australian book designers – to promote their work to, and connect with, the broader publishing community.
AGDA Australian Graphic Design Association
The Australian Graphic Design Association (AGDA) is the national association for professional graphic designers.
Australian Network for Art and Technology
ANAT champions artistic excellence by supporting professional artists and fostering a culture of creative risk-taking, securing resources to enable artists to pursue creative research and communicate the importance of creative experimentation.
Design Institute of Australia
An Institute recognised as a dynamic body representing designers in Australia and promoting the highest ethical and professional standards through education, information and event management.
Museums and Galleries NSW
The Museums & Galleries of NSW supports and promotes volunteer, artist run and professionally staffed public museums and galleries, and Aboriginal cultural centres across NSW.
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant international web links and may act as a starting point.
Archive of Digital Art
The Archive of Digital Art documents the rapidly evolving field of digital installation art. This comprehensive resource includes video documentations, technical data, artist statements, academic texts, artistic inventions, discussions as well as bibliographical information, exhibitions and events.
An online resource for information on the top 300 artists, their artworks, galleries and related news and features.
Bibliography of the History of Art
BHA offers both basic and advanced search modules, and can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements. Note that the database search includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) and the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009. Also the Répertoire de la litterature de l’art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA, has records that cover 1975-1989.
An online resource for modern, post-modern and contemporary design of the 20th-21st centuries with information on designers and producers, on furniture, lighting, dinnerware, accessories, glass, ceramic, plastic, wood and metalware.
Open Access Images at the Metropolitan Museum of Art
All images of public-domain works in The Met collection are now available under Creative Commons Zero (CC0). So whether you're an artist or a designer, an educator or a student, a professional or a hobbyist, you now have more than 375,000 images of artworks from our collection to use, share, and remix—without restriction.
Online encyclopedia of graphic symbols.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)