Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Topics include antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design.
Art, Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes a comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. Subjects: Art history, Architecture and architectural history, Crafts, ceramics, glass and jewellery, Decorative art and antiques, Fashion, textiles and dress, Furniture and interior design, Industrial design, Modern and contemporary art, Museums and conservation, Photography. Coverage: 1973 to Current.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library provides digitized back issues of academic journals, ebooks and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Meiji Japan This link opens in a new window
Adam Matthew complete collection of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), he was a great polymath – notable for his work in natural history, ethnography and art history – but, perhaps most famous for his work in bringing Japan and the West closer together.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Indexes of journals in humanities, arts, social sciences, education, medicine, and health, and access to books via the University Press Content Consortium (UPCC).
The Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Topics covered include textiles and dress, fashion history, popular culture, gender studies, photography and graphic design, and marketing and advertising. Coverage: 1892 - Present.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley online provides peer reviewed journals, books and reference covering humanities, science & Health, business & management, chemistry, computing, engineering & Mathematics, social sciences & psychology.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)