Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale.
Social Science Database
Multidisciplinary resource for core disciplines across social sciences, including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics, with topics including anthropology, communication science, demography, economics, education, political science, policy studies, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Indexes of journals in humanities, arts, social sciences, education, medicine, and health, and access to books via the University Press Content Consortium (UPCC).
WARC (World Advertising Research Center) offers advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands, and includes campaign and online videos.
Gives access to a wide range of information from news sources, industry publications, websites, company reports, and provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events. Note: Includes full-text access to The Australian, The Australian Financial Review [from 1 Jan. 2020, content from the AFR (digital and print) will be available to Factiva users 72 hours after its original publication date], The Age [Melbourne], Sunday Age, Sun Herald [Sydney], The Daily Telegraph, and The Sydney Morning Herald (SMH).
Online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions including documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone. New programs added weekly. Archive: 2006 - Present.
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
Newspapers service including leading regional and local sources from Australia and New Zealand which allows users to track news from their preferred sources and search the titles individually or collectively, and includes transcripts from leading current affairs TV and Radio programming. NOTE: Includes full-text access to The Australian, the Sunday Age, the Sun Herald, The Daily Telegraph, and The Sydney Morning Herald. For AFR see Factiva [search 'Australian Financial Review'].
How does Hot Articles work?
Hot Articles is a mini window that goes on a web page and shows popular articles in broad subject areas (as defined by ExLibris). In each subject area, bX Hot Articles displays a list of up to ten articles and is based on selections made by millions of researchers from thousands of academic institutions around the world. Note: This list is updated once a month.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)