The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. Newspaper images can be magnified for easier reading or reduced for on screen navigation. You can save and print article images, create persistent links and email them to others. When trying to print entire newspaper pages, you will need to tile them to make them legible given the differing paper size between newsprint and common office paper sizes.
Includes titles from the business press, key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and industry and market reports. Subjects: Business, Economic conditions, Corporate strategies, Management theory, Management techniques, Business trends, Competitive landscape and product information, Accounting, Finance. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
Includes peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. Includes millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Coverage: 1980 - Present; New York Times 1995 - Present.
Includes titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage.
Academic Writer is APA's authoritative solution offering you a complete digital environment for teaching, learning, and writing academic papers. LEARN: Use the Learning Center to find video quick guides and tutorials to help you get started and refine your research and writing. REFERENCE: Use the Reference Center to find tools to assist you with building and managing a reference library. WRITE: Use the Writing Center to select an APA Style paper template, collaborate with peers and reviewers, and check your work.
Includes engineering books, instructional, faculty made videos, Excel spreadsheet calculator tools, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalisation tools to help organise crucial project information. Includes data visualisation tools.
Includes information on internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, and patient care, with video content included. Create/login to your free MyAccess personal account to access additional features. Includes access to John Murtagh's General Practice Collection.
Includes digitised primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France. With content from key partners like The National Archives and Records Administration (US), National Archives at Kew (UK), Royal Anthropological Institute, and Senate House Library (University of London), this resource offers a view into the experiences and contributions of individuals in the Diaspora, as told through their own accounts.
* The Age online is on-campus access only *
Access to Fairfax titles for all students and staff in either the web edition or digital replica format. Click here to view the print edition from the last six months via the Digital Replica archive.
Contains agricultural science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA. AGRICOLA is the definitive bibliographic database to agricultural science literature. Coverage: 1970 - Current.
Collection includes access to the following AHA (American Heart Association) journals: Circulation; Circulation: Cardiovascular Imaging; Circulation: Arrhythmia and Electrophysiology; Circulation: Genomic and Precision Medicine; Circulation: Cardiovascular Interventions; Circulation: Cardiovascular Quality and Outcomes; Circulation: Heart Failure; Circulation Research; Hypertension; Stroke.
Create a free login using your Western Sydney email and a personal password (top right of the page) to monitor the online activity surrounding your academic and non-traditional research. Track the global engagement of your work via Twitter & Facebook activity, Wikipedia mentions, online opinion pieces (eg The Conversation), blog posts, news stories, citations in policy documents and more. Dimensions and Web of Science citations are also included so traditional and non-traditional metrics can be assessed holistically. Search results can be filtered by individual researcher or department within the University, or select the 'full database' to access the global dataset.
Derived from real human data, this software provides 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, and animations. Includes access to 3D Atlas, Anatomy & Physiology Online, Imaging: Ultra Sounds for Lower Limbs, Sports Therapy Package (excluding sports injuries), and Manual Therapy. The high resolution 3D models allow you to rotate, add or remove anatomy and identify and learn more about any visible structure. In addition to 3D anatomy, this resource also contains 3D cross sections with MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imagery) correlations and detailed text linked to dissection slides, video clips and animations.
Year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. Provides information on the major and minor events of the past 250+ years, with historical context and perspective and a mass of biographical information. Provides key insights into contemporary 18th and 19th century attitudes towards the political and social events, issues, developments, and trials of the time.
Research in progress database - describes current research projects across the agricultural and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries. Archive: 2000 - June 2007.
Research in progress database that contains completed research projects from the ANR-Research database, across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries. Archive: 1984 - June 2007.
Note: Research projects on the ANR-Research Archive are not updated, which means contact details for researchers and organisations may be out of date.
This collection unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today. Includes fieldnotes, images, letters and recordings. Includes the Margaret Mead Archival Collection with original field notebooks on gender roles, original field notes detailing linguistic notes and analysis on the Samoan language of nearly a century ago, and correspondence between Mead and her contemporaries.
Access files from the former British Prime Minister, Harold Macmillan's Private Office. Included are records of meetings, key policies, correspondence and memoranda to and from government advisors, files on Ministers, etc.
Includes a comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. Subjects: Art history, Architecture and architectural history, Crafts, ceramics, glass and jewellery, Decorative art and antiques, Fashion, textiles and dress, Furniture and interior design, Industrial design, Modern and contemporary art, Museums and conservation, Photography. Coverage: 1973 to Current.
Encompasses cross-searchable databases with thousands of journal titles, ensuring deep searches of extensive collections in specialist subject areas not covered in more general databases. Subjects: Art, Design, Architecture, Humanities, Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more. Coverage: 1864 - Current.
Offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere. Includes country information and statistics, people and institutions; and policy and analysis. Relevant to medicine, law, computing, engineering, mathematics, nursing, business, and science. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
Access to current Standards from the American Society for Testing and Materials. First time users will need to create a free personal account to log in and save content. Please use your institutional email address to register and log in.
Resource for Australian literature and storytelling, including exhibitions, awards, and rich online content, with material dating largely from c.1788 to the present - children's literature not included. Coverage: 1988 - Present.
Multidisciplinary collection, with topics and themes particularly relevant to the region include indigenous issues from indigenous perspectives, Asian culture and Asian-Australian relations, immigration issues, and the environment, with teaching guides for the top titles.
Newspapers service including leading regional and local sources from Australia and New Zealand which allows users to track news from their preferred sources and search the titles individually or collectively, and includes transcripts from leading current affairs TV and Radio programming. NOTE: Includes full-text access to The Australian, the Sunday Age, the Sun Herald, The Daily Telegraph, and The Sydney Morning Herald. For AFR see Factiva [search 'Australian Financial Review'].
* AFR Online is on-campus access only. *
Access to Fairfax titles for all students and staff in either the web edition or digital replica format.
Click here to view the print edition from the past three years via the Digital Replica archive.
The Alerts service is not part of this subscription. Use Google Alerts as an alternative.
Evidenced-based national drug reference with concise, reliable, comprehensive information and easy-to-find comparative drug data. Helps you compare drugs and make informed prescribing choices. Updated annually, the AMH helps you find information on drug indications, precautions, adverse effects, dosage, interactions and products.
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Links to the latest BCA requirements (Housing Provisions and Class 2 to 9 Buildings), which are included in the Building Service NSW section of Westlaw AU. Also known as the National Construction Code (NCC).
Offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. This database provides access to literature as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
A point-of-care tool which provides research evidence, guidelines, and expert thought, with drug information provided via the database Martindale, integrated medical calculators (including BODE Index for COPD Survival Prediction) and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
To use the Best Practice decision support app:
* Register for an account on the Best Practice website. You will receive a confirmation email with a temporary password.
* Log in through the link in the email to change the temporary password to a more preferrable password.
* Download the Best Practice decision support app. Use your Best Practice account details to log into the app for institutional access.
Includes access to the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Includes access to MarketLine (Company Profiles and Industry Profiles covering automotive, consumer, energy, financial services, healthcare and technology sectors), and images/business videos under the More > dropdown list. See also Enhanced Business Searching Interface. Coverage: 1886 - Present.
* 'Business Writing' module: For desktop/laptop, install the latest version of Flash and allow Flash in your browser. For iOS devices, please use the Puffin Web Browser app.
Takes an interactive approach to helping course participants produce effective emails, letters, SMS and reports.
Includes CABI's bibliographic databases, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, and contains over 11 million bibliographic records, full-text articles, news items and reports across the applied life sciences. Includes access to Description of Fungi and Bacteria (DFB).
Collection of authoritative guides in the areas of literature, classic studies, philosophy, religion, culture and music. Written by leading experts, Cambridge Companions offers lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
Provides centralised access to Cambridge University Press ejournals and ebooks. The HTML Cambridge Core Reader provides an enhanced reading experience, offering easy access to contextualised figures, tables and charts, a collapsible side panel, and improved linking to multimedia materials and references. You can also save and send content to Dropbox, Google Drive or Kindle.
Alerts on parliamentary, political, legislative, regulatory and judicial news and information to subscribers almost as soon as it is available, with news and information filtered by a team at Parliament House, before being distributed by e-mail to subscribers. Coverage: 1996 - Present.
Source of vocational information including various technical topics such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography. Coverage: 1991 (some indexing from 1975) - Present.
Gives citations for reported and unreported cases, with links to full text decisions; includes references to unreported judgments of the High Court, Federal Court, Industrial Relations Court and the superior courts of all Australian States and Territories.
Collections include: American Drama 1714-1915; Canadian Poetry; Early American Fiction 1789-1875; Early English Prose Fiction; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare; Eighteenth-Century Fiction; English Drama; English Poetry, Second Edition; Nineteenth-Century Fiction; Twentieth-Century American Poetry; Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Second Edition; and The W.B. Yeats Collection.
CHEMnetBASE used to provide access to the collection of chemistry databases from CRC Press and Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Databases: Combined Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, and Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds. Replaced by the Taylor & Francis eBooks platform.
Brings together studies from many diverse disciplines relating to the biochemistry, neurobiology, molecular biology, and physiology of smell, taste, internal chemoreception, chemotaxis, and infochemicals such as pheromones.
Bibliographic database on all aspects of crime and criminal justice. CINCH-ATSIS includes information on the involvement of Indigenous Australian peoples in the justice system. Coverage: 1968 - Present.
CiteScore includes current and free metrics for journal titles in Scopus. The CiteScore Tracker shows how the current year's CiteScore buids up each month. You can also report using these annual metrics and track the current year metrics via the links to each title’s Scopus source details page.
* 'Business Writing' module: For desktop/laptop, install the latest version of Flash and allow Flash in your browser. For iOS devices, please use the Puffin Web Browser app. Compatible web browsers (minimum requirements) for remaining modules are Chrome v51, Firefox v47, Safari v9.0, and Edge v40.
Interactive learning programs for reading, grammar and academic writing, with four modules on: Business Writing; Tense Buster; Road to IELTS (for desktop and tablet only); and Study Skills Success.
* Log in with your personal account details in order to download book chapters. Set up a personal account by registering online for remote access *
Contains cross-searchable, key resources for the medical sciences. Includes First Consult, AMH guides (drug monographs) content, local Australian content and all MEDLINE abstracts. Browse Multimedia for video content. This guide provides instruction on remote access.
* Log in with your personal account details in order to download book chapters. Set up a personal account by registering online for remote access *
Includes local and international nursing content, the Australian Medicine Handbook drug monographs, local Australian books and journals, and practice guidelines. Browse Multimedia for video content. Search for ebook title.
Topics included: business, science, engineering technology, agriculture, philosophy, medicine, humanities and social sciences. Updated daily, the information is available in English and Chinese (Traditional and Simplified). Coverage: 1994-2016.
Includes information on the effects of interventions in health care, and consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. See also the video tutorial on Cochrane Library Systematic Reviews.
Provides authoritative information more than 1 million scholars and organizations around the world, together with verified affiliation and publication information. The database comprises international faculty at 4-year universities and their departments.
Searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
Provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teen, Including mental health videos.
Multimedia collection which directly discusses the CACREP 8 Core Areas required by many states for counselor certification as well as a wide range of contemporary issues from working with LGBT clients to helping clients suffering from PTSD.
Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as law enforcement and security services. Subjects: Addiction, Corrections administration, Criminal justice, Criminal law, Criminology, Family law, Homeland security, Industrial security, Law enforcement, Rehabilitation, Terrorism. Coverage: 1975 - Current.
Provides up-to-date financial information for all Australian ASX listed and delisted companies, as well as detailed historical financial data, and is updated daily. Includes historical financial data back to 1990, and interim and de-listed data going back to 1996; Australian Stock Exchange announcements going back to October 1998, including prospectuses.
To access Annual Reports Online data, go to Search Tool / ASX Announcements (PDF) Search / Section B – select Periodic Reports, then Annual Reports. Then you can define your start and finish date for the report. Annual Reports data provides access to Australian companies' annual reports dating back to 1995.
These video titles address criteria in the DSM-5 and ICD-10 for diagnosing various mental and related disorders, including obsessive-compulsive, depressive, bipolar, anxiety, schizophrenia spectrum, and trauma and stressor-related disorders.
Contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available, with each collection exhaustively covering the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
Access historic Australian newspapers digitised as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (part of the Trove search service). Note: Includes full-text access to The Age [Melbourne], The Australian, Australian Financial Review (AFR), The Daily Telegraph, Sun Herald [Sydney], Sunday Age, and The Sydney Morning Herald (SMH).
Exclusive documentaries for higher education, from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, BBC, National Film Board of Canada, CBC, TV Trust for the Environment, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, and more...
Offers the full text of first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.
Contains images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to 1701. Developed and produced with scholars, rare book librarians, bibliographers, and other experts. Offers full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books in Europe. View Early European Books content plotted on the interactive historical map.
Contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 186366, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works.
Archive of magazines covering 20th Century education. Covers a wide range of educational topics, from general titles to subject-specific publications, and material devoted to women and ethnic minorities in education. Explore multiple perspectives on social history, childhood studies, women’s studies, psychology and politics.
Provides resources for both new and experienced teachers tools to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms. Consists of video content.
Online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions including documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone. New programs added weekly. Archive: 2006 - Present.
Access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Elsevier eLibrary includes ebooks relevant to nursing. Read offline by clicking on the 'Read Offline' link in the book thumbnail. In Desktop environment, the file can be directly open or save it before open it. In iOS and Android environment, use your browser to find the ebook in Elsevier eLibrary. Click on 'Read Offline' to download the ebook file. The file will be visible in the Elsevier eLibrary APP installed on your device.
Covers topics on management, operations, HR, marketing, library, training and engineering articles, and the subject areas of business, management, economics and the social sciences, health and social care, engineering and education. Includes access to eCase Collection, The CASE Journal, and Emerging Markets Case Studies.
Teaching Notes in the Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies are only available to faculty members. Faculty members should contact the Library to gain login details to the Teaching Notes @ http://www.emeraldinsight.com.
Provides expanded options to discover new areas of research in evolving disciplines, as well as relevant interdisciplinary scholarly content across rapidly changing research fields. Focus is on both Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities content. Coverage: 2005 - Present.
Includes material related to colonial history and culture, which spans across the last five centuries (1600 to 20th century) including literature, art, religion, race, and class, as well as imperialism and colonialism in the colonised and colonising countries.
Covers a range of subjects within an engineering context including civil engineering, mining, environmental engineering, road and rail, and municipal engineering. Full text publications: 1973 - Present; Index: 1973 - Present.
Bibliographic database of research literature for engineering, computing, mathematics and related disciplines. Contains references, engineering journals and conferences. From September 2016 Engineering Village will include Knovel.com abstracts. Coverage : 1884 - current.
Comprehensive archive of English verse which provides representation of both of the literary heritages of former colonial countries and of the poetic legacies of English writers brought back to scholarly attention during the last thirty years.
Justis gives you access to hundreds of thousands of case judgments and legislation from common law jurisdictions around the world. Covers UK legislation and case law, Irish law, EU law, Carribean case law, and Human Rights.
Includes recent research reports of direct relevance to entomology, with coverage including insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, and terrestrial isopods - from the most ancient fossilized forms to newly-discovered species.
Bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats - from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional text and PDFs.
Brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. The database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries and relationships between people and the environment through social, cultural, economic, political, historical and ecological perspectives.
This EBSCOhost collection provides access to education literature and resources, and information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Coverage: 1966 - Present.
eTG complete provides searchable on-line access to all volumes of the Therapeutic Guidelines (disease-oriented guidelines for prescribing and give clear, practical and succinct recommendations for therapy). NOTE: The number of tokens available for mobile access via the eTG complete app on iOS and Android are limited. Please see instructions on how to register for a token. You will be sent a reminder email with instructions when token renewal is required.
Gives access to a wide range of information from news sources, industry publications, websites, company reports, and provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events. Note: Includes full-text access to Australian Financial Review (AFR), The Australian, The Age [Melbourne], Sunday Age, Sun Herald [Sydney], The Daily Telegraph, and The Sydney Morning Herald (SMH).
Note: This subscription is licensed under an academic account, which does not enable clients to set-up personal accounts for alerting services.
Bibliographic database on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families, along with a subset of records that specifically relate to the Indigenous Australian peoples. Coverage: 1980 - Present.
Mulitdisciplinary resource which includes award-winning documentaries, presenting points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. Includes Volumes I and II.
Search across Gale's premier literary databases. Includes access to Literature Resource Centre - LRC; Literature Criticism Online; LitFinder; Contemporary Authors Online; Something About the Author Online; Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online; and other subcollections of GVRL titles such as MLA, Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors.
Cross-searchable access to subscribed content in Gale archives: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection; Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940; Archives Unbound; British Library Newspapers; The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2014; Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2006; The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003; The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926; Picture Post Historical Archive; The Times Digital Archive; and The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2013.
Collection of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. It's a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Reproduced in high-resolution color page images, this resource provides access to a chronicle of 20th century American and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering a cultural lens into the modern era. Coverage: 1867 - Current.
Combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles for all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, and surgery.
Resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 onwards, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Coverage: 1955 - Present.
Covers feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928). It contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles, as well as new thematic essays, and subject introductions on its structural themes. Includes video introduction to the subject and an image gallery containing photographs and illustrations that can be used in teaching and study.
Full-text, full-image multidisciplinary database which includes American Politics and Society (from Kennedy to Watergate); Slavery and the Law; Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975; and World War II.
Research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
Collection of Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings and Company Research including access to Australia Industry Reports (ANZSIC), Global Industry Reports, Australia Business Environment Profiles, Australia Company Reports, and Australia Specialized Industry Reports.
Includes judgments handed down in the Court of Appeal, Administrative Court and other divisions of the High Court from 2000 to the present day are available to all, free of charge. In addition, we’re opening up ICLR’s index of leading case law dating back to 1865 for the very first time.
Collection of standards, periodicals and conferences published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Coverage: 1988 - current.
Includes integrated Altmetric badge visualisations and related data
Provides single-search access to ebooks collections: HCPro Publications, Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS), Nordic Institute of Asian Studies (NIAS), and Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).
* Register an email address to access InCites from anywhere *
A customised citation-based research evaluation tool which allows academics to benchmark their own and their institution's performance against peers and other institutions worldwide. Users need to register individually and create their own profile to use InCites Benchmarking & Analytics (From Sign In screen, click on "Register an email address" and complete the registration form).
Facilitates the evaluation and comparison of journals from publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Covers almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited includes works about other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.
Drawn from the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this collection covers the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.
Provides cross-searchable access to all Informit databases. Subjects covered: Arts & Humanities, Business & Law, Education, Engineering & Science, Health, Indigenous peoples, News & Current Affairs, and Social Science. To searching by subject or database click on CHANGE DATABASES. Use the Thesaurus to search by subject term.
Provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives. Includes a daily feed of Australian regional and state-based newspapers
Bibliographic database on East Timor and Eastern Indonesia, on Australia's relations with South-East Asia, and with ASEAN and its member nations (Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand, Cambodia, Malaysia, Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Laos and Myanmar). Archive: 1989 - May 2002.
Includes ebooks from the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS), a regional research centre dedicated to the study of socio-political, security and economic trends and developments in Southeast Asia and its wider geostrategic and economic environment.
Provides insights that matter most to medical research and practice, including archives of neurology and psychiatry (1919-1959). Includes interactive features such as video, audio, and CME quizzes. Also includes a Multimedia including interactive Medical Cases section. Also available is the JAMA Network Reader for mobile devices.
The JBI evidence-based practice model is considered a benchmark in the healthcare industry.
Institutional users have access to the JBI database and all of the JBI Tools. Users will need to create an OVID personal account in order to use the EBP Tools.
* See user guide 'Accessing JBI Tools for the First Time'.
* JBI Resource Centre (including training and other JBI resources)
To start you need to create a “Personal Account” on OvidSP and link that personal account to a JBI Tools account.
To access Rapid tools:
1. Click on EBP Tools http://ezproxy.uws.edu.au/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&PAGE=jbi
2. Select a JBI Tool
3. Log into your Ovid Personal Account
To access the JBI tools via OvidSP:
1. Click on My Account.
2. Enter your OvidSP personal account details, or create an OvidSP personal account.
3. Select ‘I am new to JBI Tools. Link me automatically’. ONLY use ‘I have a JBI Tools username and password’ if your existing JBI login is not a shared account.
4. You will receive a confirmation email titled “JBI EBP Tools Account Confirmation”.
5. Click on the 'Confirmation' button and the tool or tools page should open in a new tab or window.
Provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Assists University researchers publish their work in relevant high quality journals by providing contextual information on where a journal fits within the Australian Bureau of Statistics of Research Field (FOR) codes, allocated to each journal on the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) journal list.
Video journal collection which includes all general biology research methodologies.
When searching JoVE, the subscription section of each video is indicated by a coloured circle. Use the filter bar on the left to find videos by author or institution i.e. included as part of the UWS subscription.
Covers core bioengineering concepts, which include production of biomaterials, histotypic and whole organ tissue cultures, bioprocessing techniques, and the complex system-level fields of bioMEMs and biosensing.
Introduces a range of concepts that are essential for understanding and designing mechanical systems. Each video examines a specific topic and describes fundamental analytical methods commonly employed to understand physical behaviours.
Discover a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
* Click on the proxied link. Log in via the 'WesternAccount' portal..
* Once on the Kanopy website, click on the "Connect" button.
* Upon clicking “Connect”, you should be automatically authorised to access Kanopy (no need to re-login).
Collection of reference ebook titles in science and engineering, including: Food Science; Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics & Toiletries; Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology; and Safety and Industrial Hygiene. The fully integrated Math Solver and the accompanying library of interactive equations are freely available to Knovel registered users.
LEGENDcom (LEGEND commercial) is a database maintained by the Australian Commonwealth Department of Immigration and Border Protection which includes Migration and Citizenship legislation, policy documents, and the procedural advice manual (PAM). It provides current and historical versions of migration and citizenship legislation as well as migration series instructions, citizenship instructions, and legislative instruments.
* First time users are advised to select Pacific Research as their starting point. Due to the personalisation features, there are separate access points for staff and students *
Australian legal materials including key Australian Law reports and unreported judgments. Includes the Practical Guidance database. Lexis Advance has replaced LexisNexis AU and Lexis.com. To access Legal Express, register for a free personal account and make sure you have logged into a session of Lexis Advance.
Includes archival content of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. Some publications may contain explicit content. Coverage: 1954-2015.
Hosts the key works and, in future releases, archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day, and includes materials covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as works that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community.
Includes integrated media content in the areas of biotechnology, biomedical research/life sciences, clinical medicine and surgery, law, alternative and complementary medicine, philanthropy, psychology, engineering, humanities, environmental science, and sustainability.
Access archives for the study of social history in the modern era: from the end of the 'Hungry Thirties' to the onset of the Second World War; the Blitz; and the post-War world of consumerism and television. Includes Parts I, II, III and IV.
Includes select titles such as British Journal of Cardiac Nursing, British Journal of Healthcare Assistants, British Journal of Healthcare Management, British Journal of Neuroscience Nursing, British Journal of School Nursing, Gastrointestinal Nursing, International Journal of Palliative Nursing, International Journal of Therapy & Rehabilitation, International Paramedic Practice, Journal of Paramedic Practice, Journal of Wound Care, Nurse Prescribing, Nursing & Residential Care, and Practice Nursing.
Bibliographic database featuring articles indexed from daily newspapers including: Sydney Morning Herald (1996-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-), The Herald Sun (1991-), The Bulletin (1991-), The Courier Mail (1995-), Sunday Mail (1994-), Adelaide Advertiser (1997), and West Australian (1996-1997). Archive: 1991 - 30 June 2009.
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.
This EBSCOhost database provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciencesand uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from current biomedical journals. MEDLINE databases have all available records including MEDLINE (i.e. fully indexed/processed), PREMEDLINE (in-process and other non-indexed citations) and records provided by publishers.
Includes the most complete version of Ovid MEDLINE, with all year ranges and content from the various Ovid MEDLINE options. In-process articles for MEDLINE are available from this link. Coverage: 1946 to Present.
Contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within areas such as psychology, education, business, and leadership, and serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available testing instruments currently in print in the English language. Coverage: 1938 - Present.
Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration, including the modern era. Take an in-depth look at the emigration of peoples from Great Britain, mainland Europe and Asia during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Includes personal diaries, letters, travel journals and scrapbooks supplemented by original maps, watercolours, engravings, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material. Includes audio files, and a virtual tour of two New York Tenement Museum apartments.
Bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations dating back to the 1920's on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, history of printing and publishing, listings on rhetoric and composition, and history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Combines cross-searchable, seminal bibliographies in music and performing arts, with full-text from hundreds of journals. Subjects: Music, Performing Arts, Dance, Theater, Film. Coverage: 1864 - Current.
Collection of classical music, including also Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in the database.
Collection of British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s (popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature).
Includes healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and coverage on topics including cytology, nursing, nutrition, oncology, pediatric care, pharmacology, public health, and radiology, with video clips from leading providers on assessment, procedures, anatomy, and more.
Includes industry reports, books and papers published since 1998, as well as a vast collection of statistics, with statistical data going back to the early 1960s. Further details are available in this OECD iLibrary User Guide.
Lists training resources available in Australia from commercial distributors, educational institutions and government departments. Distributor listings include contact details and a profile. Archive: 1966 - January 2000.
Lists training resources available in Australia from commercial distributors, educational institutions and government departments.Listings include full production details, format, long descriptions, price and supplier. Archive: 1966 - January 2000.
* Please login using WesternAccount (ID/Password) *
Provides full access to tutorials, case studies, videos and ebooks from over 250 publishers. Includes on-the-go and on-demand access to thousands of books, videos, expert-curated courses, and interactive learning environments. Popular Topics: Analytics, Business & Management, Computer Networking, Databases, Engineering, Game Development, Information Technology/Operations, Leading Teams, Maths & Science, Project Management, Software Development and Web Development.
To download digital content go to the Your Account page, then click on the Your Products tab. You’ll see a list of your digital content. Choose your digital content type (ebook or video), click the title, and then click the button for each file type you want to download. Click Send Ebook to send your ebook file to either Dropbox or Google Drive.
Offers 24/7 online access to bestselling fiction ebooks. Compatible with all major desktop and mobile platforms. Downloads books in ePub format or read a book online.
* To borrow ePub books, users should install either Digital Editions or the OverDrive Media Console app. Both are available to download from the OverDrive Account page.
* View and return borrowed items through Digital Editions or OverDrive Media Player app.
Nursing and allied health database ideal for practice, research, or education—access to million records. Quickly and easily uncover evidence-based literature and the latest scientific advancements that support patient treatment in a wide variety of healthcare settings. Coverage: 1995 to Present.
Includes the most complete version of Ovid MEDLINE, with all year ranges and content from the various Ovid MEDLINE options. In-process articles for MEDLINE are available from this link. Coverage: 1946 to Present.
Complete texts of Oxford Handbooks for archaeology, business and management, classical studies, criminology and criminal justice, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion.
This discovery service lets you search across Oxford's digital academic content with a single click, and find related content every step of the way. In advance search, please ensure the box is ticked for 'Show only full text provided by Western Sydney University Library'.
Provides access to scholarly editions of material written between 1485 and 1700, including all of Shakespeare’s plays, the poetry of John Donne, and works by John Milton and John Locke. Coverage: Shakespeare 2012/2013 online only.
Includes a range of titles for both clinical situations and hospice care; focusing on evidence-based palliative care, quality of life and ethics, as well as care for patients with non-malignant diseases requiring care at the end of life.
Video collection of interviews and panel discussions recorded at The Paley Center for Media on industry insiders discussing the processes of television production, the impact of media on contemporary society, and much more.
Bibliographic database on Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN (as an entity) in relation to humanities, social sciences, business, management, building, architecture, city planning, law and medicine. Archive: 1980 - September 2007.
Bibliographic database about the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (PILOTS). Its includes international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Coverage: 1871 - Present.
Access to leading political science and international relations journals indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, on topics such as political science, international relations, comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, human rights, and migration. Coverage: 1985 - Present.
* IMPORTANT: Please use the green 'Sign In" button to log in, or select 'New User?' to create a personal account. *
Online newspaper kiosk. Browse and read hundreds of full content premium newspapers and magazines from around the globe while on campus connected to Western WiFi or connected to WiFi off campus. Use the PressReader app to download content on campus for reading offline. Coverage: Current with access to up to 60 days of back issues. Note: This database may not offer the complete full text for every item it indexes. Full-text access is not available for The Age, The Sunday Age, The Sun-Herald, The Australian, The Daily Telegraph, and The Sydney Morning Herald (publisher restrictions/ georestrictions apply). For these papers see: Australia & New Zealand Newsstream. For AFR see Factiva [search 'Australian Financial Review'].
* News Corp withdrew their title content, including papers such as The Australian and The Daily Telegraph, from PressReader with immediate effect 18 Jan 2016.
* When on campus and connected to Western WiFi, University students and staff who have installed the PressReader app can download full newspapers from around the world. You can then read these off campus without needing an internet connection. IMPORTANT: The download function will only allow free access whilst on campus and connected to Western WiFi.
* You can personalise your news feeds, bookmark articles, copy/paste, and print full-content pages or articles. When prompted, the app will ask you to use a free token, select Yes to authorise the download and you should receive a confirmation notice stating that free access is provided by the Library (tokens will not be used).
American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A–E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893–2009. Each January, another year is added to the archive.
Multidisciplinary database across subjects areas, covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, science, technology, social sciences and more. Choose to search individual databases or search all at once.
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries which impact on fields such as sociology, business, advertising, economics, political science, law, ethics, and the arts.
Access to content on psychological research, representing a range of psychology disciplines including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, personality, physiological, psychobiology, psychometrics and social psychology, and includes curriculum-aligned psychology videos on psychology concepts and principles.
Nonprofit publisher and advocacy organisation founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. All articles submitted by any Western Sydney University author, and accepted for publication in any PLOS journals, will not be subject to any Article Processing Charges.
Freely available version of Medline plus additional content holding the NLM (U.S. National Library of Medicine) search service with access to citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases, and links to participating online journals. Also includes PubMed LinkOut to the Library Holdings and ClinicalKey.
Provides a quick way to use pre-defined filters for selecting MEDLINE studies in four areas: therapy, diagnosis, etiology and prognosis. Another filter on the Clinical Queries page will quickly search for systematic reviews on a topic.
Provides access to Royal College of Nursing journals, with each journal including practical application, clinical innovation and the latest research; research and development papers, double-blind peer review for clinical and original research articles, news of latest developments in treatments, essential continuing professional development material; and articles written by senior clinicians.
Bibliographic online database about the Great Barrier Reef Region, and includes material on or about the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park (GBRMP), the Region, or the World Heritage Area, with many records including spatial information. Coverage: 1982 - Present.
* Replaces Legacy RefWorks platform which will run concurrently with New RefWorks until further notice. Alumni: to register an account please contact the Library *
Online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help users gather, manage, store and share information, and generate citations and bibliographies. For further information see the New RefWorks LibGuide. See Release Notes for latest updates and information.
Resource for religious studies programs covering formal theological studies, commentary and news on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. Including related content on philosophy and ethics. Coverage: 1986 - Present.
* For desktop and tablet only. Compatible web browsers (minimum requirements) are Chrome v51, Firefox v47, Safari v9.0, and Edge v40 *
Online preparation and practice resource for International English Language Testing System (IELTS), with interactive activities, advice videos from British Council experts, hints and tips on question types as well as downloadable practice tests.
RURAL is a major contributor to the understanding of rural and remote area health issues and the care, practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. This resource consists of seven databases. Coverage: 1966 - Present. Note: Because the Rural and Remote Health Database is made up of seven separate databases, the structure of the records varies.
Social science platform. Includes books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos, and a large collection of qualitative methods books. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.
Find stories of real research to learn from and be inspired by. Choose from hundreds of case studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects. Browse all cases, cases from SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 1, or browse by the options provided.
Includes practice datasets to help you master qualitative and quantitative data analysis. The datasets use data from real research,designed to support the teaching and independent learning of data analysis techniques. Browse all datasets or browse by the options provided.
Includes streaming videos covering every aspect of the research process, along with qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods. Includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process.
Includes in-depth interviews with experts, on topics as varied as innovation management, corporate social responsibility and social media marketing. View the very latest insights from marketing practitioners including Kellogg’s and McDonald’s and watch management professionals, business leaders, entrepreneurs and marketers at work.
Includes many tutorials, such as Mick Cooper on Empathy and Listening, multiple interviews with leading experts such as Jerrold Lee Shapiro on Existential Psychotherapy and John McLeod on Evidence-Based Practice, along with many more films addressing teaching, learning and practitioner issues.
Video covering all branches of the Criminal Justice system, the Criminology & Criminal Justice Collection supports students and researchers at all levels via tutorial videos that take viewers step-by-step through the criminal investigation process; case studies that show how that research affects policy and practices; and films that take you inside forensics labs, correctional facilities, and court rooms.
This collection offers a practical view into a full range of teaching settings and situations, from early years to educational leadership, to support students needing to understand theory or how to apply it in practice. Contributors include leading authors Peter Smith on Bullying, Wendy W. Murawski on Co-Teaching, Julia Link Roberts on Gifted and Talented Education, and many more.
Offers academic viewpoints and real-life insights into practices directly applicable to Communication and Media Studies courses. Top Hollywood producer Martin Cohen discusses film production; further contributors also include Sonia Livingstone on New Media, Joe Turow on Advertising, Barbara Zelizer on Journalism, and Stuart Hall on Representation.
This collection includes videos that reinforce course fundamentals, introduce new perspectives and bring theory to life with in-practice examples. With content types designed to fit a variety of learning and research needs, interviews with renowned experts cover subjects including international migration, political philosophy and the international relations of China. Discover seminal documentaries from BBC Worldwide and footage of famous political speeches from Martin Luther King and John F. Kennedy among others.
Includes videos which help you see professional psychologists in action, such as forensic psychologists working inside a prison, or clinical psychologists treating patients with a variety of mental health disorders; or venture back to the field’s beginnings via footage of John B. Watson or Muzafer Sherif’s early experiments.
Showcases the skills necessary to become a social worker; gives insights into different client groups at the micro, mezzo, and macro levels; and elevates understanding of how theory and policy relate to practice. Global content covers issues and themes that are significant to the current field of social work including homelessness, LGTBQ rights, aging populations, advocacy, social justice, suicide, PTSD and trauma, self-care, and veterans.
Includes an array of different sociology video types, including multiple hours of In Practice videos that highlight careers and practitioners in the real world; tutorial videos that shed light on hot topics within the field; and case study videos that explore particular research and its impact on policy.
* Elsevier (Scopus/ScienceDirect) personal registration is required for access *
SciVal is a citation analysis tool that uses Scopus data to provide metrics. Helps you assess your institution’s research performance from a variety of perspectives in order to establish, execute and evaluate strategies based on reliable evidence. Contains data on the research performance of 7,500 research institutions and 220 nations worldwide.
* Upon login, if prompted to select between two options, select 'Western Sydney University Library, IP_Western Sydney U', then click to Continue. *
Includes access to peer-reviewed titles in health, sciences, engineering, social sciences, psychology, and economics. Includes all Embase content. Coverage dates back to 1966.
To use Scopus on iPad, cookies must be enabled on the browser of the device. Therefore, you will need to ensure that cookies for Safari are enabled by following the appended steps:
1) Open Safari if it is not already open.
2) Choose Safari > Preferences, and then click Privacy.
3) In the “Block cookies” section, specify if and when Safari should accept cookies from websites.
Delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history. It is organized around more than forty events and areas and includes a wide array of themes such as terrorism and counterterrorism, insurgency and counterinsurgency, cybersecurity, ethnic conflicts and resolution, and nuclear threats. This collection will include video and printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches).
Bibliographic database listing serials held in Australian libraries. Consists of two databases: Serials in Australian Libraries (SIAL), and Australian Interlibrary Resource Sharing Directory (ILRS). Includes multidisciplinary journal content held by Australian libraries. Coverage: 1972 - Present.
* To access content off campus register your desktop computer. Enter the code on the mobile device when prompted to pair your mobile device for 30 day periods *
Covers a broad range of topics in applied mathematics, statistics/probability, computational science, data mining, dynamics, engineering and physics.
Multidisciplinary resource for core disciplines across social sciences, including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics, with topics including anthropology, communication science, demography, economics, education, political science, policy studies, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Search across a range of ProQuest’s specialist index and full-text social sciences databases. Subject Area(s): Criminal Justice, Education, Library and Information Science, Linguistics, Politics, Social Science, and Sociology. Coverage: 1914 - Present.
This resource pairs recently published social work textbooks with compelling documentaries, clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate complex and challenging realities faced as practitioners.
This website includes content around four themes: Communication Skills; Developing your Practice; Ethics, Values and Diversity; and Assessment and Intervention. Each theme contains different resources, which will help you to explore some key issues and aspects of social work practice.
Provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Coverage: 1952 - Current.
Searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas, focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras. Coverage: 1825 - Present.
Extensive video collection in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more. Includes Volumes I and II.
Collection specifically designed to help researchers find and evaluate protocols and methods across the whole Springer Nature protocols and methods portfolio. From keywords through to citation history and latest citations, you can compare protocols and methods to make sure that they have been successfully and consistently used in other research projects.
Provides searchable full text access to Springer journals, books and book series. Subject coverage includes: Biomedicine, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences, Economics, Education, Engineering, Environment, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine and Public Health, Philosophy, Psychology, Physics, and Social Sciences. Coverage varies according to source.
To easily create an associated user account (account associated with Western Sydney University), create the account on campus. If a user account is created off campus, the user will need to contact the Library to obtain a Springer account Association Code. Library should contact the DD&S department to provide the Code.
Provides access to the full contents of all current Australian standards, draft standards and most handbooks published by Standards Australia. It includes a section on International standards. Frequency: Updated monthly.
* Please ensure you have the latest version of Flash installed on your desktop/laptop. Requires the Puffin Web Browser app to view on iOS mobile device *
Online library of electronic nursing resources.
Includes reliable information on all countries plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, population and other details, with expanded coverage of history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country.
Bibliographic database on all aspects of natural resource management covering the sustainable management of land, vegetation and water resources, including urban water and wastewater and irrigation systems: land resources, water resources, irrigation systems, and water and wastewater utilisation. Archive: 1982 - March 2004.
* Compatible web browsers (minimum requirements) are Chrome v51, Firefox v47, Safari v9.0, and Edge v40 **
Provides comprehensive coverage of skills and resources that will enable students to approach their academic studies effectively and with confidence.
* SMH Online is on-campus access only * * Standard web view * | * Digtal replica of print *
Sydney's metropolitan newspaper published by Fairfax.
Access to the issues for the previous six months is via the digital replica.
Note: Library access doesn't include features which require login to an individual account e.g. save articles, access via apps.
*** Important: Click on 'Access Archive' to access full text ***
A Searchable online archive of every edition (exact digital reproductions) of The Sydney Morning Herald and The Sun-Herald between 1955-1995. See also the Sydney Morning Herald Index.
Bibliographic database primarily in the area of taxation law but also including other areas of interest such as child support, accounting, business, finance and superannuation from 1992 onwards. Archive: 1992 - September 2003.
Headings are used only if the article holds implications for taxation.
Search eBooks in specialist subjects led by a global network of editors and authors. Includes access to CHEMnetBASE, Combined Chemical Dictionary, CRC Press, and CRCnetBASE subscribed content. See also Student/Researcher FAQs.
Incorporates all telecommunications changes including: computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television and wireless communications. Coverage: 1995 - Present.
* Compatible web browsers (minimum requirements) are Chrome v51, Firefox v47, Safari v9.0, and Edge v40. The app is compatible with iPad and Android tablets, but not mobile phones due to screen size limitations
Helps learners improve their understanding of key grammar areas. The program includes detailed feedback in exercises, and each unit includes a video-based pronunciation exercise relating to the grammar point.
Bibliographic database that indexes theses submitted to the National University of Singapore (NUS) and its predecessor institutions, and which are deposited with the Library. Archive: 1947 - September 2007.
Includes primary law, analytical materials, practice area insights, litigation resources, public records, and provides full text access to case law, statutes, administrative materials, annotated reports, law reviews, current affairs etc from the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Europe, Hong Kong and Australasia. Database is also known as WestlawNext.
Group of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas, which include information from the Hazardous Substances Data Bank, TOXLINE and ChemIDplus (a chemicals database). Toxnet also provides links to other NLM databases, including MedlinePlus and PubMed.
Archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Includes periodicals published between 1914 and the end of 1919.
Trip is medical database designed to allow users to quickly and easily find high-quality research evidence including systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically appraised topics and research articles.
Requires free registration to access select full text resources. Important: When registering, please select the name of our Institution to view the links to full text under each journal article.
Index of television news and current affairs stories from the Australian free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format, and is updated daily. Key subjects include news, current affairs, politics and government, business and finance, lifestyle, environment, health, science and nature, IT and technology. Coverage: September 2007 - present.
Collection includes poems by many poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
Collection of working documents of the British government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. It covers Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials. Includes access to 18th, 19th, 20th and 21st Century Collections. Search by Command Papers by Number, Debates, or Members, Offices & Constituencies.
Source of detailed information on periodicals of all types, the Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to urban studies. Coverage: 1973 - Present.
Access to the full text newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.
Provides access to the latest research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology through contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners.
* Recommended for use on Firefox, Chrome, and Safari. IE is not supported. Apps require iOS 11.3 or later installed on Apple devices. See minimum system requirements to access the Augmented Reality feature *
Visible Body is an interactive 3D human anatomy visualization and learning tool with highly detailed, anatomically accurate, 3D models of all human body systems including anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system. It allows users to view in real time any combination of anatomical structures from any angle by zooming in, rotating, and making structures transparent or visible. It has dynamic search capability and includes easy-to-use 3D controls. The Visible Body apps are available for use on desktop and mobile devices.
* Mode of access: World Wide Web. Unity Web Player 4.3+ plug-in is required to view content. Plug-in can be downloaded at http://unity3d.com/webplayer/
* Human Anatomy Atlas: To access MRI/CT scans when in cross-section, open up any of the options. See section on the far left titled 'images'. Click on the side tab and the MR or CT scan to see the images.
* Please note:
o Activation Codes can be used only one time on one device.
o Your Activation code does NOT expire (no matter how much time passes between you receiving the codes and actually getting around to using it).
o After you use an Activation Code within an app the app will be available to you for a 12 month period.
o To continue using your app offline and off campus, open your Visible Body app on campus at least once every 150 days.
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Topics covered include textiles and dress, fashion history, popular culture, gender studies, photography and graphic design, and marketing and advertising. Coverage: 1892 - Present.
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts books, reports, theses, video recordings, maps, manuscripts and pictorial matter in the Knowledge Resource Centre at Werribee and small regional collections of the Department of Primary Industries and the Department of Sustainability and Environment. Archive: 1990 - May 2011.
Mutlidisciplinary collection of full text and citation index databases on information gathered from scholarly journals, books, book series, reports and conferences. Includes the Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Scitation Index (AHSI), Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, SciELO Citation Index, InCites, Journal Citation Reports (JCR), and Essential Science Indicators (ESI).
You must be logged into Web of Science using your personal account details to access the InCites tab.
Provides online full text access to journal content on subjects such as business, finance and management, chemistry, computer science, earth science engineering, law life and medical sciences, mathematics and statistics, and physics and psychology.
Collection of primary materials, including the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made. Coverage: 1840 - Present.