Social science platform. Includes books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos, and a large collection of qualitative methods books. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.
Find stories of real research to learn from and be inspired by. Choose from hundreds of case studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects. Browse all cases, cases from SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 1, or browse by the options provided.
Includes practice datasets to help you master qualitative and quantitative data analysis. The datasets use data from real research,designed to support the teaching and independent learning of data analysis techniques. Browse all datasets or browse by the options provided.
Includes streaming videos covering every aspect of the research process, along with qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods. Includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process.
Includes in-depth interviews with experts, on topics as varied as innovation management, corporate social responsibility and social media marketing. View the very latest insights from marketing practitioners including Kellogg’s and McDonald’s and watch management professionals, business leaders, entrepreneurs and marketers at work.
Includes many tutorials, such as Mick Cooper on Empathy and Listening, multiple interviews with leading experts such as Jerrold Lee Shapiro on Existential Psychotherapy and John McLeod on Evidence-Based Practice, along with many more films addressing teaching, learning and practitioner issues.
Video covering all branches of the Criminal Justice system, the Criminology & Criminal Justice Collection supports students and researchers at all levels via tutorial videos that take viewers step-by-step through the criminal investigation process; case studies that show how that research affects policy and practices; and films that take you inside forensics labs, correctional facilities, and court rooms.
This collection offers a practical view into a full range of teaching settings and situations, from early years to educational leadership, to support students needing to understand theory or how to apply it in practice. Contributors include leading authors Peter Smith on Bullying, Wendy W. Murawski on Co-Teaching, Julia Link Roberts on Gifted and Talented Education, and many more.
Offers academic viewpoints and real-life insights into practices directly applicable to Communication and Media Studies courses. Top Hollywood producer Martin Cohen discusses film production; further contributors also include Sonia Livingstone on New Media, Joe Turow on Advertising, Barbara Zelizer on Journalism, and Stuart Hall on Representation.
This collection includes videos that reinforce course fundamentals, introduce new perspectives and bring theory to life with in-practice examples. With content types designed to fit a variety of learning and research needs, interviews with renowned experts cover subjects including international migration, political philosophy and the international relations of China. Discover seminal documentaries from BBC Worldwide and footage of famous political speeches from Martin Luther King and John F. Kennedy among others.
Includes videos which help you see professional psychologists in action, such as forensic psychologists working inside a prison, or clinical psychologists treating patients with a variety of mental health disorders; or venture back to the field’s beginnings via footage of John B. Watson or Muzafer Sherif’s early experiments.
Showcases the skills necessary to become a social worker; gives insights into different client groups at the micro, mezzo, and macro levels; and elevates understanding of how theory and policy relate to practice. Global content covers issues and themes that are significant to the current field of social work including homelessness, LGTBQ rights, aging populations, advocacy, social justice, suicide, PTSD and trauma, self-care, and veterans.
Includes an array of different sociology video types, including multiple hours of In Practice videos that highlight careers and practitioners in the real world; tutorial videos that shed light on hot topics within the field; and case study videos that explore particular research and its impact on policy.
* Elsevier (Scopus/ScienceDirect) personal registration is required for access *
SciVal is a citation analysis tool that uses Scopus data to provide metrics. Helps you assess your institution’s research performance from a variety of perspectives in order to establish, execute and evaluate strategies based on reliable evidence. Contains data on the research performance of 7,500 research institutions and 220 nations worldwide.
* Upon login, if prompted to select between two options, select 'Western Sydney University Library, IP_Western Sydney U', then click to Continue. *
Includes access to peer-reviewed titles in health, sciences, engineering, social sciences, psychology, and economics. Includes all Embase content. Coverage dates back to 1966.
To use Scopus on iPad, cookies must be enabled on the browser of the device. Therefore, you will need to ensure that cookies for Safari are enabled by following the appended steps:
1) Open Safari if it is not already open.
2) Choose Safari > Preferences, and then click Privacy.
3) In the “Block cookies” section, specify if and when Safari should accept cookies from websites.
Delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history. It is organized around more than forty events and areas and includes a wide array of themes such as terrorism and counterterrorism, insurgency and counterinsurgency, cybersecurity, ethnic conflicts and resolution, and nuclear threats. This collection will include video and printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches).
Bibliographic database listing serials held in Australian libraries. Consists of two databases: Serials in Australian Libraries (SIAL), and Australian Interlibrary Resource Sharing Directory (ILRS). Includes multidisciplinary journal content held by Australian libraries. Coverage: 1972 - Present.
* To access content off campus register your desktop computer. Enter the code on the mobile device when prompted to pair your mobile device for 30 day periods *
Covers a broad range of topics in applied mathematics, statistics/probability, computational science, data mining, dynamics, engineering and physics.
Multidisciplinary resource for core disciplines across social sciences, including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics, with topics including anthropology, communication science, demography, economics, education, political science, policy studies, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Search across a range of ProQuest’s specialist index and full-text social sciences databases. Subject Area(s): Criminal Justice, Education, Library and Information Science, Linguistics, Politics, Social Science, and Sociology. Coverage: 1914 - Present.
This resource pairs recently published social work textbooks with compelling documentaries, clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate complex and challenging realities faced as practitioners.
This website includes content around four themes: Communication Skills; Developing your Practice; Ethics, Values and Diversity; and Assessment and Intervention. Each theme contains different resources, which will help you to explore some key issues and aspects of social work practice.
Provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Coverage: 1952 - Current.
Searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas, focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras. Coverage: 1825 - Present.
Extensive video collection in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more. Includes Volumes I and II.
Collection specifically designed to help researchers find and evaluate protocols and methods across the whole Springer Nature protocols and methods portfolio. From keywords through to citation history and latest citations, you can compare protocols and methods to make sure that they have been successfully and consistently used in other research projects.
Provides searchable full text access to Springer journals, books and book series. Subject coverage includes: Biomedicine, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences, Economics, Education, Engineering, Environment, Life Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine and Public Health, Philosophy, Psychology, Physics, and Social Sciences. Coverage varies according to source.
To easily create an associated user account (account associated with Western Sydney University), create the account on campus. If a user account is created off campus, the user will need to contact the Library to obtain a Springer account Association Code. Library should contact the DD&S department to provide the Code.
Provides access to the full contents of all current Australian standards, draft standards and most handbooks published by Standards Australia. It includes a section on International standards. Frequency: Updated monthly.
* Please ensure you have the latest version of Flash installed on your desktop/laptop. Requires the Puffin Web Browser app to view on iOS mobile device *
Online library of electronic nursing resources.
Includes reliable information on all countries plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, population and other details, with expanded coverage of history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country.
Bibliographic database on all aspects of natural resource management covering the sustainable management of land, vegetation and water resources, including urban water and wastewater and irrigation systems: land resources, water resources, irrigation systems, and water and wastewater utilisation. Archive: 1982 - March 2004.
* Compatible web browsers (minimum requirements) are Chrome v51, Firefox v47, Safari v9.0, and Edge v40 **
Provides comprehensive coverage of skills and resources that will enable students to approach their academic studies effectively and with confidence.
* SMH Online is on-campus access only * * Standard web view * | * Digtal replica of print *
Sydney's metropolitan newspaper published by Fairfax.
Access to the issues for the previous six months is via the digital replica.
Note: Library access doesn't include features which require login to an individual account e.g. save articles, access via apps.
*** Important: Click on 'Access Archive' to access full text ***
A Searchable online archive of every edition (exact digital reproductions) of The Sydney Morning Herald and The Sun-Herald between 1955-1995. See also the Sydney Morning Herald Index.