Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page.
Acumen Practice Notes This link opens in a new window
Acumen Practice Notes is an online resource of architectural practice material, providing an extensive database of advisory notes on managing architectural practice and projects in Australia, includes the primary streams: Practice, Project, Resource and most recently, Environment.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
A robust art research database providing full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
Art, Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes a comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. Subjects: Art history, Architecture and architectural history, Crafts, ceramics, glass and jewellery, Decorative art and antiques, Fashion, textiles and dress, Furniture and interior design, Industrial design, Modern and contemporary art, Museums and conservation, Photography. Coverage: 1973 to Current.
Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
A major research resource comprising the digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Offering unprecedented access to the archives of key consumer and trade publications, it is a unique collection of the essential primary sources for studying the history of these subjects. The magazines cover the spectrum of sub-disciplines, from fine and applied arts, through to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (AVERY) This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Environmental Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains films covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. The collection addresses specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.
IET Digital Library eBooks This link opens in a new window
The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) is a multidisciplinary professional engineering institution. This ultimate ebooks collection (1979-2021) includes computing, electronic and electrical engineer, telecommunications, circuits, power, materials and IT research related.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The collections includes more than 2,600 of the top peer-reviewed scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences; 50,000 academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes; and more than 2 million primary sources.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text database containing over 3,800 journals and more than 37,000 book titles for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Australian Standards (TechStreet) - Login links below This link opens in a new window For Students
. - Log in using your Student ID@student.westernsydney.edu.au
. - Log in using Staff ID@westernsydney.edu.au
* First time user, please select your closest campus location *
Techstreet Enterprise is WSU new database for accessing Australian standards and codes (replaces Standards Online Premium, SAI Global from 1st July 2022).
With Techstreet Enterprise, you can:
• Read online by using the View Online button. However, you cannot copy or print from the online reader.
• Download and read any standard in your subscription.
• Create lists of related standards for easy access and updates.
In order to open a standard you have downloaded in Secure PDF format, you will need to install Adobe Acrobat Reader
with the FileOpen plug-in
. FileOpen is compatible with the following versions of Acrobat:
• Windows: Adobe Reader/Adobe Acrobat 9.0 or later
• Mac: Adobe Reader/Adobe Acrobat 9.0 or later
• Linux: Adobe Reader/Adobe Acrobat 7.0 or 8.0 only
Standards Online (SAI Global, Expires 30/6/2022. Please see Australian Standard via Techstreet Enterprise) This link opens in a new window
The SAI Global platform provides full-text access to current Australian standards and most handbooks published by Standards Australia.
You must register for an account, Standards Online platform will be prompted to register using student or staff email address
to authenticate (one-time only). You also need to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device. Click here for instructions & more info
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO)
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)