Skip to Main Content
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate full-text articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the Catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the full-text or a linkage to full-text elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-Resources page
Agricultural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains agricultural science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA. AGRICOLA is the definitive bibliographic database to agricultural science literature. Coverage: 1970 - Current.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
A full-text database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
CAB Abstracts via Ovid. This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts coverage of the applied life sciences includes agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science, and nutrition, from 1973 - current.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. Multidisciplinary database across subjects areas, covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, science, technology, social sciences and more. Choose to search individual databases or search all at once.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed with high-quality journals, books and reference content.
* When prompted, please register/log in using your institutional email address and password for Elsevier *
In 2023 WSU student and staff have access to over 290 selected Elsevier Textbook titles.
Training and user guide
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)