Skip to Main Content
The Alumni e-resources platform has recently been upgraded, resulting in improved access to previously listed databases and new databases added. See the new A-Z listing below for all available databases. Please note, the content of individual databases remains unaffected by the upgrade.
Due to the platform upgrade, your existing browser bookmarks may no longer display as expected. If so, you can reset your bookmarks with the links from this page.
If you are not able to access Alumni e-resources, please check the following possible reasons:
- You may have reset your Alumni password. If this is the case please contact Information Central. You must use an Alumni password issued by the Library to access Alumni e-resources.
- You are not using the Alumni password provided to you by the Library. Please check that you are using the Library issued Alumni password. If you cannot find your Alumni password please contact Information Central.
For any further assistance with Alumni resources please contact Information Central: http://westernsydney.edu.au/heretohelp.
ACM Digital Library
The Association for Computing Machinery is an international learned society for computing and is the world’s most comprehensive database of full-text articles and bibliographic literature covering computing and information technology. Includes video, audio files and ACM Open articles, published between 1951 - 2000 are now open and freely available.
Adam Matthew databases * New databases available *
Search across all subscribed Adam Matthew databases. Includes primary source collections from archives around the world for the social sciences and humanities.
Altmetric Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create a free login using your Western Sydney email and a personal password (top right of the page) to monitor the online activity surrounding your academic and non-traditional research. Track the global engagement of your work via Twitter & Facebook activity, Wikipedia mentions, online opinion pieces (eg The Conversation), blog posts, news stories, citations in policy documents and more. Dimensions and Web of Science citations are also included so traditional and non-traditional metrics can be assessed holistically. Search results can be filtered by individual researcher or department within the University, or select the 'full database' to access the global dataset.
Asia-Studies Full-text Online
Asia-Studies brings together full-text reports covering over 50 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.
AustLit: The Australian Literature Resource
Resource for Australian literature and storytelling, with biographical and bibliographical information, full text, exhibitions and rich online content. Documents publishers, newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals that make this work known. Material dates largely from c. 1788 to the present. Children's literature is not included. Also lists awards. Comprehensive coverage from 1988 - .
British Library Newspapers
Contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society. Includes access to Parts 1 and 2.
CNKI China Academic Journals Full-text Database
* To download full text, select 'IP Login' when prompted *
Topics included: business, science, engineering technology, agriculture, philosophy, medicine, humanities and social sciences. Updated daily, the information is available in English and Chinese (Traditional and Simplified). Coverage: 1994-2016.
The CSIRO publishes journals presenting the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists and covering a broad range of subjects.
Duke University Press
* Sign in to ensure access to full text *
Collection of books and journals for humanities, social sciences and more.
The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015
Fully searchable facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs, business and trade worldwide. Containing every issue since its launch in 1843, the archive offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys. It's a multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Complete digital edition of the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. Celebrated for its vivid pictorial commentary on global news, the The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 is a unique resource for the history of the last 150 years.
InfoSci (IGI Global)
IGI Global’s InfoSci database provides access to a selection of IGI Global’s world-class reference works, encyclopedias, handbooks of research, and scholarly journals focusing on emerging technology, innovative research trends and technological advancement across a number of subject areas.
Archival repository of full-text journals and books, covering a range of subject areas.
Naxos Music Library
Collection of classical music, including also Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in the database.
New RefWorks [login page]
*Access to RefWorks will cease 31/12/22 and it is recommended that you use EndNote Online instead. *
Online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help users gather, manage, store and share information, and generate citations and bibliographies. For further information see the New RefWorks LibGuide
. See Release Notes
for latest updates and information.
Includes books and papers published since 1998 - as well as a vast collection of statistics, with data going back to early 1960s and more than 80 countries are covered. Books and papers 1998 - ; Statistical data 1960s - Present.
OverDrive * With Google sunsetting Chrome apps built with App Runtime for Chrome (ARC) by the end of 2020, OverDrive will discontinue support for the Chrome Web Store version of the OverDrive app effective 20 Nov 2020. Please also update your device's operating system (if possible) to a version which supports TLS 1.2 or switch to a device that supports TLS 1.2 *
When the app is first installed and opened, the app needs to be authorised with the device to download DRM-protected eBooks.
For a snapshot of how popular devices work with OverDrive visit OverDrive Help
. For help with troubleshooting visit OverDrive's support
The app is typically authorised with an OverDrive account. The first time you open the app you'll be prompted to create an OverDrive account or log in. Once logged in, the device will automatically be authorised. The OverDrive account is typically an email address. If you already have an OverDrive account, you can select the Sign in option and enter the account and password. If you do not have an OverDrive account, you can select Create an Account and then follow the prompts to create an OverDrive account, which will then be what is used to authorise the device. Once the device is authorised, you can then add a library and log in to you account with the library's digital collection.
How to add a library
1. In the OverDrive app, tap the icon in the top-left corner to open the Home menu.
2. Tap Add a library.
Indexes over 300 journals in humanities, arts, social sciences, education, medicine, and health published by Johns Hopkins University Press, and over 1000 books from major university presses and scholarly publishers via the University Press Content Consortium (UPCC). Includes abstracts and full text documents.
SAGE Business Cases * New *
From Business & Management to cases includes the Kelloggs. Further information: see Business Cases
SAGE journals discipline includes, health sciences, materials sciences and engineering, social sciences and humanities, life and biomedical sciences.
SAGE Research Methods: Cases and Datasets * New *
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library includes books, reference works, journal articles, cases, datasets and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757‒1817) represent the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth-century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
SIAM Reference Collection (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) * New *
* To access content off campus register your desktop computer. Enter the code on the mobile device when prompted to pair your mobile device for 30 day periods *
Covers a broad range of topics in applied mathematics, statistics/probability, computational science, data mining, dynamics, engineering and physics.
The Times Digital Archive
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014
The complete online fully-searchable edition of The Times Literary Supplement from the first edition in 1902 onwards. This is the essential companion for studying and researching literary activity and critical opinion makers of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries
Wiley Online Library
Wiley online provides peer reviewed journals, books and reference covering humanities, science & Health, business & management, chemistry, computing, engineering & Mathematics, social sciences & psychology.
© Western Sydney University, unless otherwise attributed.
Library guide created by Western Sydney University Library staff is licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY)