Research Data Management

Please contact lib-research@westernsydney.edu.au for further information.

What is Research Data?

The University's Research Code of Practice defines research data as "the originally constituted body of evidence, or other materials, on which the findings or interpretation of the research are based. It also includes all forms of dissemination, including non-refereed publications, such as web pages, and other media such as exhibitions or films, as well as professional and institutional repositories."

The Australian National Data Service (ANDS) provides more information and examples of definitions set by other Australian Higher Education Institutions.

National Framework

The Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research (2007)

Section 2: Management of research data and primary materials

The central aim is that sufficient materials and data are retained to justify the outcomes of the research and to defend them if they are challenged. The potential value of the material for further research should also be considered, particularly where the research would be difficult or impossible to repeat”.

Major Research Funders

Australian Research Council (ARC)
The ARC is committed to maximising the benefits from ARC-funded research, including by ensuring greater access to research data. Since February 2014, the ARC has required researchers to outline how they plan to manage research data arising from ARC-funded research.
Further information is available on the ARC website.

National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
NHMRC Statement (2015) on data sharing: encourages sharing and reuse of research data sets. NHMRC clearly recognizes that there may be constraints on some data sets (e.g. sensitive data) but that many of these can be treated with certain techniques and shared (and reused) subsequently.

Data Management Planning

The what, why and how of data management planning.

The Australian National Data Service provides a wealth of information about research data management and data management plans.

The Digital Curation Centre (DCC) is a world-leading centre of expertise in digital information curation with a focus on building capacity, capability and skills for research data management across the UK's higher education research community. You will find information about data management planning on the DCC website.

Responsible Conduct of Research (RCR) website - Northern Illinois University

The Northern Illinois University has developed the Responsible Conduct in Data Management tutorial which provides a brief introduction to integrity issues related to data management and increases researchers’ awareness of such issues.

Along with the content, quizzes, games, cases and opportunities for reflection have also been included to engage users in the module.

Choose wisely: The purpose of this game is to self-test your ability to decide if each of the research data management activities or decisions presented in the game promotes or compromises research data integrity. Click here to play the game.

Digital Preservation Handbook

Digital information is increasingly important to our culture, knowledge base and economy. The Digital Preservation Handbook (2nd ed.) has expanded and updated content and provides an internationally authoritative and practical guide to the subject of managing digital resources over time and the issues in sustaining access to them. The Digital Preservation Handbook is maintained and updated by the Digital Preservation Coalition.

Digital Preservation Handbook. (2nd ed.). Why digital preservation matters. Digital Preservation Coalition © 2015.

Digital Preservation Coalition website: http://www.dpconline.org/

Contact Us

ic @westernsydney.edu.au's picture
ic @westernsydney.edu.au

Phone Phone   Email Email Us  FAQs FAQs


Find answers to common problems with logging into library databases here.

Australian National Data Service (ANDS) on Twitter