Building & Construction

Additional Research Tools

In addition to the subject related resources listed within the e-Resources section of the library webpage, the following online tools may prove useful for researchers. This page contains a selection of available resources and should be considered a guide rather than an exhaustive list.

Citation Tracking Tools

Scopus
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and indexing database with access to around 15,000 peer-reviewed titles in health, sciences, engineering, social sciences, psychology, and economics. Scopus currently provides access to over 25 million abstracts with coverage dating back to 1966. A citation tracker feature has recently been released.

Web of Science
Updated weekly. Allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Contains Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1987. Updated weekly, it allows users to search current and retrospective information from nearly 8,500 journals, across more than 230 disciplines. Also allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence.

Google Scholar
Enter via the e-resources menu (or this link) to access subscribed material.

Conferences

Academic conferences worldwide - Conference Alerts
Free subscription to receive e-mail updates of conferences matching your interests, available dates and preferred locations.

All Conferences . Com - Conventions - Trade Shows - Convention Centers
Directory of international conferences and workshops

General Resources

Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews Online publishes full text critical reviews of primary research literature in 29 physical, biomedical and social sciences disciplines.

Australian Newspaper Digitisation Program
Systematic digitisation of archival Australian newspapers.

Europeana
Digitised books, films, paintings, newspapers, sounds and archives from many of Europe's major museum collections.

Manuscripts, Oral History & Pictures (previously known as PICMAN)
Searchable catalogue of the State Library of New South Wales collections in these areas.

Social Science Research Network SSRN
Free subscription required. Updated daily. Award winning site.

National Library of Australia

Australia Dancing
Directory of resources including people, companies, performances and oral histories.

Libraries Australia
Libraries Australia acts as a single gateway to a number of Australian and international databases. These databases can be searched simultaneously, enabling the user to identify resources published in almost any country in the world. It also provides access to online content of Australian journals.

Music Australia
Contains sound recordings, moving images and scores and more. Source items to borrow, copy or buy.

PictureAustralia

Includes images of artworks, photographs, and objects. Print copies may be requested.

Reference

Britannica Online
International reference guide containing a video collection, timelines, world data analysis, country comparisons, a world atlas, a dictionary of quotations and a gateway to the classics.

Oxford English Dictionary Online
Contains the meaning, history and pronunciation of words from across the English-speaking world.

Repositories

Trove: Australian Research Online
Trove is an online search engine developed by the National Library of Australia. Australian Research Online (ARO) and the Australasian Digital Theses program (ADT) have now been integrated into Trove, allowing you to search Australian research outputs, including theses from within Trove. Note: you can limit the search to 'theses only' by clicking on the thesis facet on the left hand side of the screen under Refine your results.

OpenDOAR - Home Page - Directory of Open Access Repositories
Contains data from university repositories and open access journal collections such as Pubmedcentral.

Research Communities

COS Scholar Universe
COS Scholar Universe provides authoritative information about more than 1 million scholars and organizations around the world, together with verified affiliation and publication information. The database comprises international faculty at 4-year universities and their departments. Community of Scholars is a unique tool for finding researchers by specific area of study, providing keyword access to the community behind the content.

COS Papers Invited
The database consists of detailed information and deadlines about calls for papers for forthcoming conferences and special issues of scholarly journals. These calls for papers are issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines and from all over the world. Thus, the database serves as an alerting service for researchers, scholars and students that are seeking opportunities to present and publish their research.

World of Learning
Searchable by country, institution and subject. International guide to academic research.

Websites (scholarly)

Google Scholar
Enter via the e-resources menu (or this link) to access subscribed material.

Theses Discovery Tools

The Theses component of Research Resources on the Library web page contains a comprehensive selection of theses discovery tools.

Contact Us

ic @westernsydney.edu.au's picture
ic @westernsydney.edu.au

Phone Phone   Email Email Us  FAQs FAQs


Find answers to common problems with logging into library databases here.