Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New Databases

Loading...
The following databases were acquired this year.
Create a free login using your Western Sydney email and a personal password (top right of the page) to monitor the online activity surrounding your academic and non-traditional research. Track the global engagement of your work via Twitter & Facebook activity, Wikipedia mentions, online opinion pieces (eg The Conversation), blog posts, news stories, citations in policy documents and more. Scopus and Web of Science citations are also included so traditional and non-traditional metrics can be assessed holistically. Search results can be filtered by individual researcher or department within the University, or select the 'full database' to access the global dataset.
New
Includes digitised images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the start of the 20th century.
This collection unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today. Includes fieldnotes, images, letters and recordings. Includes the Margaret Mead Archival Collection with original field notebooks on gender roles, original field notes detailing linguistic notes and analysis on the Samoan language of nearly a century ago, and correspondence between Mead and her contemporaries.
* Not recommended for use with Internet Explorer *
APA Style CENTRALfeatures full integration of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, and is designed to assist in the education and proper application of APA Style formatting rules. It also offers expert tools and guidance on the scholarly writing and research processes
Coverage include fine and applied arts, through to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening.
National newspaper, providing access to business news and market insights.
New
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Running concurrently with Brill Online, which will be retired in July 2018
Multidisciplinary online collection of books and journals. Covers the humanities, international law and biology.
New
Includes CABI's bibliographic databases, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, and contains over 11 million bibliographic records, full-text articles, news items and reports across the applied life sciences. Includes access to Description of Fungi and Bacteria (DFB).
Collection of authoritative guides in the areas of literature, classic studies, philosophy, religion, culture and music. Written by leading experts, Cambridge Companions offers lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
Provides centralised access to Cambridge University Press ejournals and ebooks. The HTML Cambridge Core Reader provides an enhanced reading experience, offering easy access to contextualised figures, tables and charts, a collapsible side panel, and improved linking to multimedia materials and references. You can also save and send content to Dropbox, Google Drive or Kindle.
New
Offers a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.
  • Incorporates multimedia content
  • Incorporates Australian and/or Indigenous content
New
Alerts on parliamentary, political, legislative, regulatory and judicial news and information to subscribers almost as soon as it is available, with news and information filtered by a team at Parliament House, before being distributed by e-mail to subscribers. Coverage: 1996 - Present.
New
CiteScore includes current and free metrics for journal titles in Scopus. The CiteScore Tracker shows how the current year's CiteScore buids up each month. You can also report using these annual metrics and track the current year metrics via the links to each title’s Scopus source details page.
* Legacy CNKI site will remain available for a few months *
Topics included: business, science, engineering technology, agriculture, philosophy, medicine, humanities and social sciences. Updated daily, the information is available in English and Chinese (Traditional and Simplified). Coverage: 1994-2016.
  • Incorporates multimedia content
New
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
These video titles address criteria in the DSM-5 and ICD-10 for diagnosing various mental and related disorders, including obsessive-compulsive, depressive, bipolar, anxiety, schizophrenia spectrum, and trauma and stressor-related disorders.
New
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series.
New
Contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available, with each collection exhaustively covering the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
New
Collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the twentieth century.
New
Collection of books and journals for humanities, social sciences and more.
REPLACED eDuke Journals Scholarly Collections.
New
Offers the full text of first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.
New
Collection of more than 200 works from the period 15001700.
New
Traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century.
Contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 186366, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works.
Archive of magazines covering 20th Century education. Covers a wide range of educational topics, from general titles to subject-specific publications, and material devoted to women and ethnic minorities in education. Explore multiple perspectives on social history, childhood studies, women’s studies, psychology and politics.
New
Collection of complete works of English prose from the period 17001780 by writers from the British Isles.
Elsevier eLibrary includes ebooks relevant to nursing. Access full text by clicking on the grey 'ViewInside' link in the book thumbnail.
Provides expanded options to discover new areas of research in evolving disciplines, as well as relevant interdisciplinary scholarly content across rapidly changing research fields. Focus is on both Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities content. Coverage: 2005 - Present.
New
Collection of plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
New
Comprehensive archive of English verse which provides representation of both of the literary heritages of former colonial countries and of the poetic legacies of English writers brought back to scholarly attention during the last thirty years.
Archival research resource on the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
Cross-searchable access to subscribed content in Gale archives:17th and 18th Century Burney Collection; Archives Unbound; British Library Newspapers; The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2014; Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); The Financial Times Historical Archive; The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003; The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926; Picture Post Historical Archive; The Times Digital Archive; Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, and Women's Studies Archive.
New
General interest database with more than 8000 titles (most in full text with no embargo) and includes the reference, newspaper, and audio content to complement the magazines and journals included. Articles are available in both PDF and HTML.
Women's fashion magazine. Coverage: 1867 - 1912
Covers feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928). It contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles, as well as new thematic essays, and subject introductions on its structural themes. Includes video introduction to the subject and an image gallery containing photographs and illustrations that can be used in teaching and study.
  • Incorporates multimedia content
New
Full-text, full-image multidisciplinary database which includes American Politics and Society (from Kennedy to Watergate); Slavery and the Law; Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975; and World War II.
Trial
Includes judgments handed down in the Court of Appeal, Administrative Court and other divisions of the High Court from 2000 to the present day are available to all, free of charge. In addition, we’re opening up ICLR’s index of leading case law dating back to 1865 for the very first time.
New
This innovative full-text newspaper resource covers local, national, state and international news.
Hosts Ingenta content from all scholarly disciplines and caters for multiple formats, including whole books, chapters, monographs, single articles and entire journals.
Video journal collection which includes basic techniques commonly used in cellular and molecular biology.
New
This video journal collection takes a broad look at quantitative analysis, including sample handling and measurement in the chemistry laboratory.
Video journal collection highlighting the current and historical significance of these three organisms, along with concepts and methodology on how they are maintained and reproduce in the laboratory.
Video journal collection featuring three vertebrate species commonly used in life sciences research: M. musculus (Laboratory Mouse); G. g. domesticus (Chick) and D. rerio (Zebrafish).
New
Video journal collection which showcases basic chemistry lab techniques, demonstrate commonly used equipment, and explore the theory behind fundamental methodology.
Introduces neuroscience at a professional level for five branches of study: neurophysiology, neuroanatomy, cell and molecular neuroscience, behavioural neuroscience, and developmental neuroscience.
New
This video journal collection profiles the techniques and procedures routinely used in the organic chemistry lab.
The ebooks are freely available for anyone in the world to use. Each ebook carries one of six Creative Commons licenses determined by the publisher. The titles are easy to use, with no DRM restrictions and no limits on chapter PDF downloads or printing. Users will not need to register or log in to JSTOR.
* First time users are advised to select Pacific Research as their starting point. Due to the personalisation features, there are separate access points for staff and students *
Australian legal materials including key Australian Law reports and unreported judgments. Includes the Practical Guidance database. Lexis Advance has replaced LexisNexis AU and Lexis.com. To access Legal Express, register for a free personal account and make sure you have logged into a session of Lexis Advance.
Incorporates Liebert open access journals, as well as open access articles published in the Liebert subscription journals.
New
Represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
New
Offers a broad range of authors and their works, including a large collection of full-text critical and literary analysis.
New
Covers all time periods, and contains literature content, including more than 140,000 full-text poems, 840,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays published in the 16th-20th centuries
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.
New
Scholarly journal publishing primary research about plants; be it their evolution, development or metabolism, their interactions with the environment, or their societal significance. Coverage: 2015 to Present.
New
* Replaces Legacy RefWorks platform which will run concurrently with New RefWorks until further notice *
Online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help users gather, manage, store and share information, and generate citations and bibliographies. For further information see the New RefWorks LibGuide.
Collection of British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s (popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature).
New
Includes the most complete version of Ovid MEDLINE, with all year ranges and content from the various Ovid MEDLINE options. In-process articles for MEDLINE are available from this link. Coverage: 1946 to Present.
Provides hundreds of thousands of definitions, synonyms, antonyms, and pronunciations for English across the world, derived from language research and expert analysis. Includes examples of real usage.
New
Contains every issue of the pioneering photojournalism newspaper. Picture Post (1938-1957) was read by an estimated 80% of the British population at its peak. A resource for studying international social and political issues of the day, and how they were brought into popular consciousness.
New
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
* MyiLibrary content to be incorporated early 2018 *
Offers ebook titles from scholarly sources, for a wide range of disciplines.
Includes first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Includes first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Includes first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Includes first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Includes first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Includes first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Includes first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Includes first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Includes first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Includes first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Addresses the entire spectrum of the social sciences with deep coverage of sociology and politics, extending to criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior. Coverage: 1871 - Present.
Nonprofit publisher and advocacy organisation founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. All articles submitted by any Western Sydney University author, and accepted for publication in any PLOS journals, will not be subject to any Article Processing Charges.
New
The diaries cover the period from Queen Victoria's childhood days to her Accession to the Throne, marriage to Prince Albert, and later, her Golden and Diamond Jubilees.
New
Collection of case studies for use in Business and Management courses at all levels. Further information is available from the SAGE Business Cases site.
Find stories of real research to learn from and be inspired by. Choose from hundreds of case studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects. Browse all cases, cases from SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 1, or browse by the options provided.
Find practice datasets to help you master qualitative and quantitative data analysis. Choose from over 150 datasets using data from real research, designed to support the teaching and independent learning of data analysis techniques. Browse all datasets or browse by the options provided.
New
This resource pairs recently published social work textbooks with compelling documentaries, clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate complex and challenging realities faced as practitioners.
New
Provides comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in the 'Something About the Author' and 'Something About the Author Autobiography' Series.
New
Collection specifically designed to help researchers find and evaluate protocols and methods across the whole Springer Nature protocols and methods portfolio. From keywords through to citation history and latest citations, you can compare protocols and methods to make sure that they have been successfully and consistently used in other research projects.
New
Includes resources focused on sustainability and social responsibility, which support research, teaching, practice and policy-making.
New
Database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana.
Search over 90,000 eBooks in specialist subjects led by a global network of editors and authors. Includes access to CHEMnetBASE, Combined Chemical Dictionary, CRC Press, and CRCnetBASE subscribed content. See also Student/Researcher FAQs.
* The app is compatible with iPad & Android tablets, but not mobile phones due to screen size limitations *
Helps learners improve their understanding of key grammar areas. The program includes detailed feedback in exercises, and each unit includes a video-based pronunciation exercise relating to the grammar point.
Access to Fairfax titles for all students and staff in either the web edition or digital replica format. Click here to view the print edition from the last six months via the Digital Replica archive.
New
Year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. Provides information on the major and minor events of the past 250+ years, with historical context and perspective and a mass of biographical information. Provides key insights into contemporary 18th and 19th century attitudes towards the political and social events, issues, developments, and trials of the time.
Access to Fairfax titles for all students and staff in either the web edition or digital replica format. Click here to view the print edition from the past three years via the Digital Replica archive.
Combines the BBC's most-viewed films.
More than 1,200 exclusive documentaries for higher education, from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, BBC, National Film Board of Canada, CBC, TV Trust for the Environment, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, and more...
New
Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper, since it was first published in 1888, can be searched and browsed individually and page by page in this facsimile run of this business newspaper. It's a comprehensive and unbiased research tool for anyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years. Coverage: 1888 - 2010.
The Gerritsen Collection of Alleta H. Jacobs is the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
New
Provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Video collection of interviews and panel discussions recorded at The Paley Center for Media on industry insiders discussing the processes of television production, the impact of media on contemporary society, and much more.
New
Popular search tool for Astronomy and Astrophysics
* Standard web view * | * Digtal replica of print *
Sydney's metropolitan newspaper published by Fairfax.
Access to the issues for the previous six months is via the digital replica.
Note: Library access doesn't include features which require login to an individual account e.g. save articles, access via apps.
Provides access to the latest research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology through contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners.
Contains the major work of W.B. Yeats in all genres, including poetry, plays, criticism and fiction.
  • Incorporates multimedia content
New
Comprehensive archive of Womens Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images.
Includes primary law, analytical materials, practice area insights, litigation resources, public records, and provides full text access to case law, statutes, administrative materials, annotated reports, law reviews, current affairs etc from the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Europe, Hong Kong and Australasia. Database is also known as WestlawNext.
Explore the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th and early 21st centuries. Identification of the anonymous contributors – reviewers, essayists, and writers of letters and poems – is included.
  • Incorporates multimedia content
New
Archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Includes periodicals published between 1914 and the end of 1919.
New
Collection includes poems by many poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
New
Brings together many of the most important and influential poems representing the full range of movements and traditions in American poetry from 1900 to the present day.
New
Collection of working documents of the British government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. It covers Bills, Reports of Royal Commissions, Reports of Select Committees, Accounts and Papers and other materials.
New
As the first in the Women’s Studies archive, this collection traces the path of women’s issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more.
Loading...
title
Loading...